A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

Merry XMas (War is Over) December 23, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tara @ 10:31 am
Tags:

Merry Christmas everyone!  Happy New Year too, as I most likely will not be posting again in 2010.

I have every intention of blogging more in the coming year.  My life is settling back into a routine – the move is out-of-the-way, my relationship is steady and calm-like (in a good way), family stuff is sorting itself out and I’ve managed to hit the gym a few times in the last couple of weeks.

My weight was up a bit (7 lbs – those darn 7 lbs!) when I did my December weigh in last week, but I’m trying not to worry.  I have moments where I feel intensely discouraged, and then sane moments when I sit back and recognize the truth: it’s the holidays.  It’s the time of year where I’m so busy that meal planning and cooking for myself is infinitely more difficult.  It’s the time of year where parties are a-plenty and yummy treats are being offered at every turn.

Gaining weight is not good for my brain.  Even though I know it’s normal and even though I’m still trying to make the best of EACH INDIVIDUAL SITUATION, gaining weight makes me feel like a failure.  I’m reminding myself that I’m not a failure by any stretch of the imagination, I’m banning negative self-talk and I’m getting through. 

At this time of year, it’s what I can do.

So in that spirit, I wish you success over the holiday season – but I urge you to make it the kind of success that is healthy, mentally.  Don’t beat yourself up if you’re not perfect because you can’t be.  You can only be you.

 

One Response to “Merry XMas (War is Over)”

  1. Chibi Jeebs Says:

    I was just thinking of you the other day! Glad to see you pop up in my reader! :)

    Wishing you and yours a very Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

    xoxo


Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.