A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

Indestructible December 1, 2008

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tara @ 10:11 pm
Tags:

I joined Weight Watchers tonight.  I had a horrible day at work and I did not want to cap it off by seeing how far I’ve let myself slide, but I went in and did it anyway.  I figured I might as well get all the bad stuff over in one day than let it drag out over several.

I don’t know if this will work, this whole losing weight by blogging thing, but I’m willing to give it a try.  I don’t have much to lose except weight.  I’ve kinda stolen this idea from Pasta Queen, someone I not only admire for her hard work and determination, but for her humour – she’s pretty damn funny.

The facts are these (to borrow from one of my favourite shows): I’m 27 years old and enormously overweight.  I’ve been trying to slim down since I was about 15, and I’ve tried many, many, many different methods and none of them have worked.  I mean, sure, I’ve lost a few pounds here and there, but I always gain them back (plus more).  This isn’t a new story.  I’m sure you’ve heard it before because it’s a pretty universal story. 

I think that this time will be different.  Strike that.  I know it’s going to be different.  I’ve always hidden my attempts at weight loss before, too ashamed at the prospect of failing to let anyone know that I’ve tried.  My best friend once called me a perfectionist, which I thought was hilarious until she explained what she meant.  She said, “you have to be perfect at everything and if you can’t be, you just don’t try”. 

She’s right.

I hate failing so much that I do anything to avoid it, up to and including not doing something that I’m scared I won’t be good at.  I really hope that someone starts to read this, not only because I like writing and I like other people reading my writing, but also because it would be nice to have some encouragement once in awhile (that sounds like shameless shilling to my ears).

 

Leave a Reply

