A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

1, 2, 3, 4 December 8, 2008

Filed under: Weight Loss Updates — Tara @ 6:06 pm
Tags:

I lost 4.8 lbs this week!

Note the exclamation point?  I’m really trying to be excited about not even losing five pounds.  I keep repeating to myself all the things that are true and good about this eating plan so far.  I thought it might help to write them all down….so here we go.

  1. I haven’t had that horrible grinding pressure in my stomach after eating something greasy or heavy in over a week.
  2. I’m feeling in control and glad that I’m doing something about my weight.
  3. I haven’t really felt deprived since I started this “lifestyle change”.  I’ve been satisfied and comfortable after eating.
  4. I don’t feel guilty ALL THE TIME because I’m eating myself into an early grave.

Notice I have not yet used the word “diet”.  My friend Kim (and every other weight loss book I’ve ever read – and I’ve read A FEW) all think that diet is a dirty word.  That the only way to get thin is to change the relationship you have with food and modify your lifestyle to incorporate healthy foods and choices.  It’s the right idea, I know, and that’s what I’m trying to do.  I don’t want to think of this as a diet.  This isn’t a diet, it’s how I want to live the rest of my life.

I’ve also updated my “about me” page – I thought it would be a good way to keep track of my progress and see how far I’ve come.

 

Leave a Reply

