A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

Within Your Reach January 4, 2009

Filed under: Goals and Expectations — Tara @ 1:34 pm
Tags:

I think it’s time I put my goals in writing.  I think about them all the time, but sometimes (in moments of weakness) it’s nice to have them in print.  That way, you can go and look at them and remind yourself that you’d rather achieve your goals then eat some more nacho dip.  Mmmm, nacho dip.

My first goal was to lose fifteen pounds.  I know that doesn’t seem like a lot, and it’s not.  That’s the point.  I have a crap-load of weight to lose and if I think about how far I have to go, I feel like jumping out the window.  I want to have some small, achievable goals to concentrate on and then each time I achieve on of them, I’ve promised myself something shiny.  It’s win-win.

My next goal is to get below 300 lbs.  I have about 8.5 lbs to lose in order to complete it and I think that’s doable by the end of January.  I’m not into setting time lines for weight loss because I believe there’s no reliable way to predict how your body is going to react to dietary changes and exercise, but in this case I think I can do it.  It means a loss of roughly two pounds a week until the end of the month.  Not exactly rapid weight loss, so I’ll try and hit a time mark this one time.

My ultimate goal has yet to be determined.  I do know that I want some things out of life – the ability to walk up and down the stairs without getting winded, the energy and ability to start hiking and camping again, for a sleeping bag to fit comfortably around me, to travel to far off places (where I’ll walk and sight-see like a normal tourist instead of having to take cabs), to fit comfortably in any seat (airplane, movie theatre, sports arena) – but I haven’t figured out what my goal weight should be.  Weight Watchers says I should aim for a healthy BMI, which for me would be between 118 and 155 lbs.  That’s a pretty big range, so I’m waiting to name a final weight goal until I’m closer.

I’m going to keep you posted on my goals.  Like I said, I’m only trying to bite off what I can chew.  For now, I’m just trying to see a “2” as the first number in my weight.

 

One Response to “Within Your Reach”

  1. Good luck on your goal! And it sounds really smart, the way you’re approaching it. Love that you have such healthy ambitions, too–hiking and camping and travel. Looking forward to hearing how it’s going.


Leave a Reply

