A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

Fell On Black Days January 8, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tara @ 8:42 pm
Tags:

Remember when I said this week was going to be hard?  It’s been living up to my expectations.

I’ve been trying so hard not to get discouraged, and for the most part I’m succeeding, but I never realized how much I depend on my weight going down (and the high that provides) in order to stay motivated.  If I’m being honest, I figured as long as I followed my eating plan and didn’t deviate, I would lose weight every week.  I never counted on my body rebelling for whatever reason.  I guess I should have known better.

Like I said, I’m trying really hard to stay motivated and encouraged but it’s been hard.  I’ve had to push myself into a ‘one day at a time’ approach that feels a little desperate sometimes.  Thankfully my grandmother has been really supportive, reminding me when I’m down that this is a temporary thing and the scale will most likely reflect that on Tuesday.

On a more positive note, I decided before the weigh in that this was going to be the week that I added exercise to my routine.  I didn’t want to bail just because stuff wasn’t going my way, so I set my alarm yesterday morning for fifteen minutes earlier than normal and I walked on the treadmill for ten minutes.  Not that I go at any kind of fast pace but I figure you’ve got to start somewhere.  I plan to walk ten minutes a day for the first week and then add five minutes per week until I hit an hour.  After that, I’ll ramp up the speed or the incline and see how we do.

I also came up with a makeshift exercise log to tape on the wall behind my treadmill so that I can keep track of my progress.  I think that will be as motivating as keeping my weight loss record – I’m really not focused on my weight as much as an overall sense of well being at this point.

 

Leave a Reply

