A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

St. Anger January 26, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tara @ 9:05 pm
Tags:

As a fan of ‘The Biggest Loser’, I sometimes visit the message boards for the show on TWOP and read through what other people think of the episodes.  Sometimes people agree with me, sometimes they don’t, and sometimes people point something out that causes me to look at something in a different light than I previously did.

I’m so naive to think that people who watch/post about this show would actually be SOMEWHAT sensitive to weight struggles.  I know, what was I thinking?!  People who watch reality television aren’t always the most….kind people.  Otherwise, why would producers feel the need to give us someone to hate every season? 

Someone on the boards posted something about one of the contestants being a ‘fat, lazy slob’ and my back went up a bit.  I’m not slobby or lazy, even though I’m fat and while I don’t think I can speak for fat people everywhere, I would hazard to guess that most fat people aren’t either of those things either.  Sure, I don’t love to exercise, but who the hell does?  I don’t think that makes me lazy.  I think that makes me normal.  And while I certainly spill things on my shirt more often than someone without a breast shelf would, I’ve seen my skinniest friend Phi spill shit on herself on a regular basis and no one thinks SHE’S a slob.

Then a couple days later, this same person posted about not caring for the challenge on the episode because it made her have to look at the contestants “ham hock legs and cankles” and then proceeded to mock them for an entire paragraph.  Jesus Christ!  I’m so furious over these comments!  I don’t understand how people can be so mean!

I get it, those people got themselves to the state that they’re currently in, just like I got myself to where I am now.  But you know what?  Just because I will stand up and own every pound that’s on my frame, does not mean that I don’t deserve common decency.  I’m not asking people for sympathy or for help (unless we’re related, hi Nanny!), but I am asking them not to say negative shit to me or behind my back when they think I can’t hear (I don’t have excess flab in my eardrums jackass, I can hear you discussing the size of my ass).  Do people honestly think that fat people don’t know they’re fat?  Here’s a new flash: we know!  We’re probably more aware of our size than you are, so go away.

Now if you’ll excuse me, I’m off to finish my laundry (in order to not be slobby tomorrow at work) and do my dishes.

 

Leave a Reply

