A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

Fair February 6, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tara @ 4:35 pm
Tags:

There’s a saying about “perfect” being “the enemy of good.” Perfectionism is a trait that’s common in hoarders, according to the guy who cleans out impossibly cluttered homes on Oprah — they’re so overwhelmed by the prospect of not getting everything perfect that they are immobilized.

I read this on a message board recently and it REALLY struck me.  I think this is me.  I’m so afraid of failing at things that I don’t even attempt them.  It feels like if I can’t be perfect than it’s not worth it.  This is the exact kind of thinking that is detrimental to my success in changing my life.

No one is perfect.  Logically I know that, but for some reason I have trouble remembering that I fall into the category of “someone”.  I hold myself to a standard that I don’t think is either realistic or healthy.  What’s worse is that I don’t expect other people to live up to my expectations.  This makes me feel like a failure because I’m not some kind of paragon.  How fair is that?

I’m a great believer in fair.  I know that “life isn’t fair” (to quote my ever-wise grandmother), but it SHOULD be.  Call me idealistic, call me naive, but I think it would be great where the kind people of the world were rewarded accordingly and the mean people were punished thusly.  It’s not that I think that the world is fair, I just wish that it was.  In my daily life, I try to right the balance; I’m as fair as I can be to every person who crosses my path.

Except!  Apparently the only person I’m not that fair to is myself.

 

One Response to “Fair”

  1. Anita Says:

    I see myself in your blogs! To enlightened myself and not feel so alone I have decided to read your posts from the beginning. They are helping me more than you know. Keep blogging maybe one day I will join you. I am down 29lbs. I have approx. 50 more to go. Thank You for this particular blog! I have been going through a situation that you have utterly summed up.


Leave a Reply

