A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

Anarchy Burger February 27, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tara @ 10:50 am
Tags:

Do you think it’s possible to develop scurvy in one day?

Yesterday I barely ate any fruits and veggies.  Normally, they’re the mainstay of my diet – I eat more fruit than veggies, but at least that’s better than nothing. 

I had been craving a burger and fries for about a week, so I determined that it was a “real” craving and not the product of having a headache or missing my exercise.  I armed myself with the (somewhat horrifying) nutritional info from many websites and decided that my best (and yummiest) pick would be Licks.  Not only did this thrill me as Licks makes the best burgers in THE WORLD, but they also offer a veggie burger in a “snack pack” size that was six WW points for it and the bun.  Not bad, considering the alternatives.  I decided that my three month ban on french fries could be lifted for this one day and would get the kiddie size of those.   I figured this would satisfy my craving and not derail my lifestyle train.

The first problem occurred when the restaurant refused to sell me the kiddie sized fries.  I understand that I’m not 12 years old and under, but I was willing to pay for the regular sized fries and take the smaller version, so I’m not sure why they had a problem with this.  I decided that I would only eat the equivalent of the kiddie fries, but who are we kidding here?  If there are fries on the tray, I’m going to eat them.  I even dipped them in ketchup and flavoured them liberally with salt and vinegar.  They were delicious.

The second problem occurred when I arrived at the condiment bar to pick my toppings.  I realized that half the allure of Licks is their garlic-flavoured mayonnaise (called Guk).  IT’S INSANE!  So, so good and I wanted some on my burger.  I figured that it wouldn’t hurt considering I had gone with the non-meat burger and I had the girl put a tiny amount on the bun.  It seemed like it was worth it at the time.

When I got back to the office, I looked at the stats for what I had consumed.  18 WW points in one tiny little meal!!!!!  I could barely believe my eyes!  I had to have salad for dinner, which wasn’t as bad as I anticipated considering the fast food upset my stomach.

Still, I don’t think I’ll be doing that again any time soon.  Maybe in another three months when I’ve forgotten how icky I felt for the rest of the day.  This icky feeling is what led me to believe I have developed scurvy.  If you’ll excuse me I’m off to eat some oranges.

 

One Response to “Anarchy Burger”

  1. Just read through your blog and wanted to say congratulations on your success so far and good luck in the weeks to come! I started trying to lose seriously around the same time as you, also using WW. (Although not paying for meetings–I’ve started and stopped enough times to know the drill.)
    I’m also blogging as a way of being accountable, and I love writing about The Biggest Loser, so come on by if you have the chance.
    I’ll be back–you have a really sensible approach and good recipes!


Leave a Reply

