A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

Glad It’s Over April 10, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tara @ 10:13 pm
Tags:

I’m home at long last!  Whew. 

I had been dreading last week.  Ever since I knew I was going away for work, I was nervous and on edge.  Being out of my routine is never a good thing for me, I depend on some stability to keep my focus and drive.

So this is how it all went down:

The road trip from hell (snow, giant tractor trailers, road closures) over the weekend was great.  I made myself lots of chicken sandwiches on light bread and took plenty of low-cal snacks (fruit, veggies, Crispy Minis).  I ate great and didn’t feel deprived or guilty for any of the eating in the car.  Score: 1/1.

Monday and Tuesday were also fantastic.  I shopped at the grocery store and had oatmeal and citrus fruit (mandarin oranges really are gifts from the gods) for breakfast, Smart Ones frozen meals, granola bars, fruit and veggies for lunch and then Subway for dinner (six inch turkey on whole wheat bread with no cheese and honey mustard).  My snacking at night was confined to more fruit and some Crispy Minis while I watched the Biggest Loser.  Score: 3/3.

Wednesday was alright.  I had a great breakfast and a great lunch but dinner wasn’t the greatest.  Hawkesbury happens to have this great restaurant (called ‘Stephanie’s’ if you’re ever in the area – but why would you be?) that I love to eat in.  Last time I stayed in town, I ate there five times in two weeks.  I was sick of eating Subway, so I decided that I would go to Stephanie’s and order some kind of wrap and a salad.

I got the wrap part right!  I ordered their Cajun Chicken wrap, asked for it without the sour cream and guacamole and then it happened.  I broke down.  I got it with the french fries!  And then when they came, I ate them.  All.  I even covered them in vinegar and salt and ketchup cause I figured if I was going to eat french fries for the first time in four months, I was going to eat them the way I like to eat them!  Score: 3.5/4 (I’m giving myself half a point for not getting the steak dinner that I REALLY wanted)

I felt a bit guilty pretty much as soon as I ordered, but like I said, I did eat them when they arrived.  I’m comforting myself with the knowledge that when I counted up my points for the day, I was only over by six points.  I took them out of my allowance of Flex points and I moved on.  I’m also giving myself credit for the fact that I got right back on track the next day.  The road trip home was filled not with food, like road trips in the past, but with loud music and lots of water (I had to stop to pee four times in a six hour drive).

I’m really glad that’s behind me!  Now I can concentrate on hitting the fifty pounds lost mark and buying some new clothes!

 

One Response to “Glad It’s Over”

  1. kristisummer Says:

    welcome home. great work. have a great holiday!


Leave a Reply

