A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

Push May 18, 2009

Filed under: Goals and Expectations — Tara @ 11:20 am
Tags:

I’ve decided that I need some new motivation.  I’m still chipping away at the weight in fifteen pound increments, but I think one of the reasons I had so much early success is that I was driven to meet a specific poundage lost by the time my mom came to visit.

Therefore:  new goal!

I turn 28 years old on September 21st.  Coincidentally, I’m taking vacation that week.  My sister (who turns 21 this July) and I have been discussing a trip to Vegas, which we’ve decided should take place during this magical week I’m off (magical because my birthday is on the 21st, she’s turning 21 and we could play blackjack AKA 21).

I have decided that I want to have lost 100 lbs by the time we go to Vegas. 

It’s not impossible, but it is an aggressive goal.  It means losing 38 lbs in just over 17 weeks or 2.25 lbs per week.  I think I can do it though, and at the very least it’s some serious push to get my butt in gear when all I want to do is lie on the couch and watch Alias DVD’s (seriously, I miss that show and seeing Star Trek this weekend – where I once again denied myself movie popcorn – only made it worse).

In other news, there’s something wrong with my stomach.  My doctor thinks it’s either an ulcer or gallstones.  She’s given me some pills to combat the acid in my stomach and so far there seems to be some improvement, even if it’s given me a chronic headache that hasn’t gone away for a week.  I guess it’s worth it not to regret eating every time I swallow food.

 

2 Responses to “Push”

  1. Sounds like a great motivator–definitely an aggressive goal, but sometimes it helps to set the bar high.

    In other news, are we the same person? I’ll also be turning 28 in the fall, and I LOVE Alias.

    Sorry about the stomach pain, though.

  2. aperfectversionofmyself Says:

    Hee! I don’t think we’re the same person, but one never can tell!

    Alias rules all. Except for maybe season five, where Vaughan was “dead”.

    Thanks for the sympathy on the stomach pain, the pills seem to have battled it back and the headache has finally subsided. Yay for pharmaceuticals!


Leave a Reply

