A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

Hold Up May 19, 2009

Filed under: Weight Loss Updates — Tara @ 6:46 pm
Tags:

It’s Tuesday, so that means it’s weigh in day!

I’m down 2.8 lbs this week, which is awesome (that’s 2 lbs, plus the 0.8 I was up LAST week)!

I actually stayed for the WW meeting tonight, which is the first time I’ve done that since I started.  I know, I know, people who attend meetings are more likely to have weight loss success, blah, blah.  I don’t care.  You know what I’ve discovered?  Fat people in my city are mean.  Mean and sort of rude.  I kinda already knew that there was no “fat fellowship” happening by the way that I’m the only one of my friends who has a weight problem.  I don’t think the mentality is for us to “stick together” so much as it is that there’s only one fatty per group allowed.

I’m sorry, was that not politically correct?

What I meant was that, instead of having many “overweight” people who can sympathize with each other’s struggles and offer support in times of said struggles, the “overweight” people in my city tend to be more of the “thank God I’m not as fat as HER/HIM”-type.  Then they stay away from other “overweight” people  just in case people are more likely to notice they’re fat if they’re clustered together.

So I stayed for a meeting and regretted it.  First of all, I was starving.  My body recognized that I had left work about 45 minutes ago and that’s the signal that it’s almost dinner time.  Second of all, weighing in before meetings means that there was a lineup.  I hate lineups.  I really do.  For me, if I’m in a line there is always a person at the front who is determined to be the slowest, most annoying person EVER served.  It’s not that I’m impatient, it’s just that I despise stupidity (I also recognize that many very smart people have very stupid moments – me included). 

ANYWAY. 

I’m standing in line and the woman behind me taps me on the shoulder (I hate being unexpectedly touched by strangers too, it always nearly gives me a heart attack) to ask me if I know how much the electronic scales are.  I respond that they’re $42.99 and she raises her eyebrows, indicating that the price is high (I assume, that’s the face I make when I’m astounded by pricing).  I nod, knowingly, and then say in a quiet voice that Walmart sells electronic scales for about $20.  She looks me up and down (I wish I were joking) and then says “well I want one better than the kind they sell at WALMART!” 

Screw you lady!  My scale came from Walmart and it works just fine!  The batteries were even included!  And might I remind you that YOU talked to me first!  I’ll just take my sage wisdom and bargain-saavy elsewhere, thank you very much!

So if you ever wander into the suburbs of Toronto, beware the “overweight” person.  They may judge you for having an (allegedly) inferior scale.

 

One Response to “Hold Up”

  1. kristisummer Says:

    That is a great loss! Keep it up. Hope you are having a great weekend.


Leave a Reply

