A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

Do You Sleep? June 18, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tara @ 8:24 pm
Tags:

When I was younger, I figured that being a “grown up” would entitle a person to do many things.  Some of those things were: getting married, having children and getting to stay up as late as you liked, whenever you liked.

Excuse me for a minute.  I have to stop laughing at how stupid I was when I was younger.

After all, I’m not married nor do I have or want children.  And tonight, I’m heading to bed at 10 pm, per my new bedtime.

My hours at work changed as I’ve mentioned before, but really nothing else did.  Sure I started getting up A LOT earlier, but other than that my routine and life stayed the same.  But lately I’ve been feeling really tired and I’ve noticed that I’m hungrier than usual.  I’m still eating within my WW points, but I often feel like I could really keep going. Then I read this and a bunch of other articles about how not getting enough sleep can cause hunger and can hinder weight loss efforts because hormone regulation is altered when you are sleep deprived.

I thought about this.  I thought about how lately, I’ve been going to bed around 11 pm midnight and then laying there for awhile before I actually drift off.  I estimated (honestly this time) that I am getting approximately 5-5 and a half hours of sleep per night. 

That’s not enough!  I was actually aghast when I (honestly) calculated out how much sleep I was getting.  No wonder I’ve been feeling tired!  No wonder all I want to do on weekends is sleep!  Hence, I decided that for the next while (at least), I’m going to turn my lights off at 10 pm.  This means less time for the Internet, TV and books, but oh well. 

I know initially it’s probably going to be pretty difficult, but I’m hoping that eventually I feel the difference a good nights sleep can make.

 

One Response to “Do You Sleep?”

  1. kristisummer Says:

    We go to bed every night by 11. Staying consistent is key to a great nights sleep…which is important.


Leave a Reply

