A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

Goodnight, Travel Well July 3, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tara @ 11:36 am
Tags:

I took the day off of work today!  I worked on Wednesday, which was Canada Day (like Independence Day, but with less blue – geddit?  Our colours are red and white….keep going, you’ll get there) so I had a lieu day to use up.

I’ve been very productive!  I went and sat in line to turn in my passport application.  Now that American Customs and Border Protection thinks that Canada is full of terrorists (I’m kidding!  Sort of…), you have to possess a passport to cross the border into the USA.  This has only been a requirement since June 1st of this year, so I never had to have one to buy cheap goods in Buffalo before.  I’m flying out of the aforementioned Buffalo when I go to Vegas in September, as it’s MUCH less expensive (think $300 less expensive) and had to either get a passport or get smuggled across in the trunk of someones car.

Passport it is!  The line was hellacious and crazy – I arrived fifteen minutes before the place opened and was still given ticket number 56!  But for once, the government did not have one person working a solitary wicket while a line formed and I managed to get in and out of there in about an hour (really, not that bad).  I should receive my passport in the mail in two weeks or so and then I shall be free to roam.

In keeping with the new life that I’m persuing, I’ve decided that fear of travel (or fear of being physically incapable of travel) is another thing to fall by the wayside.  I’m going to Vegas this year and I’m going to Europe NEXT year.  I have friends who live in England and they’re always bugging me to come visit, I figure I’ll hang out with them for a couple of days before I begin traipsing through other countries.  I’ve always wanted to travel extensivly and being overweight has always been the thing that kept me from doing so.  I’m not willing to put up with that anymore.

 

One Response to “Goodnight, Travel Well”

  1. forthrightfattie Says:

    That’s awesome! I mean about the trip to Europe, not necessarily the line at the passport place.


Leave a Reply

