A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

The Way You Make Me Feel July 7, 2009

Filed under: Weight Loss Updates — Tara @ 5:36 pm
Tags:

Praise the elliptical trainer, I lost 3.4 lbs this week.  I’m absolutely certain that that’s what gave me such a huge number.  I’ve ramped it up to 30 minutes every morning on that machine and then 30 minutes on the treadmill, still pushing myself to jog at intervals.  It feels pretty damn good to be able to do that.  I’m so proud of myself.  I’m also so sweaty and disgusting when I’m finished that it would be embarrassing if I cared (which I don’t). 

It’s interesting how much I used to hate sweating.  I mostly hated doing it in front of people; probably because I figured that sweating was the hallmark of a fat person and I didn’t want to draw any more attention than necessary to the fact that I’m fat.  Now that I know I’m working on it, I don’t care who sees me sweat.  I mean, I’m not saying it’s attractive or something I want to do in front of a visiting dignitary or anything.  It’s just that, I’m at the gym and  anyone who’s not sweating while at the gym is suspicious in my book.

In other news, I’m tantalizingly close to being regular old obese (as opposed to morbidly obese).  I know lots of people think that a BMI chart is not a true indicator of how healthy a person is, but for now it’s what I’m basing my goals and expectations on.  I haven’t been a healthy body weight since I was in the eighth grade (or thereabouts) so I’m just going to shoot for a healthy BMI and see how it goes.

Finally, I just wanted to throw my two cents in about a non-weight issue.  Michael Jackson was laid to rest today and I feel compelled to say something.  I was a huge Michael Jackson fan when I was a small child – I even performed a lip-synch in the school talent show when I was eight or nine, dressed in a red military jacket (with sequins), aviator sunglasses and one sparkly glove (I believe the song was ‘Bad’ although you’d have to confirm that with my mother).  I grew up with his music, in fact the very first album I ever bought with my own money was ‘Bad’.  I’m a music fanatic (in fact, all the entries in this blog are song titles), owning thousands of cd’s, but I still have that copy of ‘Bad’ on vinyl.  I think the man had his problems, I think he led a sad kind of life, but you cannot dispute his contributions to music.  I know for myself, I never would have become the obsessed audiophile that I am without his help.  I hope he finds the peace in death that eluded him in life.

Rest in peace Michael Jackson.

 

2 Responses to “The Way You Make Me Feel”

  1. forthrightfattie Says:

    That is amazing! You’re going to hit that next goal so fast! Maybe I should give the elliptical another go.

  2. aperfectversionofmyself Says:

    You should give it another go! It’s far more of a workout than anything I assumed it was going to be and I’m really pleased with the results.


Leave a Reply

