A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

Willpower August 7, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tara @ 8:09 am
Tags:

Skinny Sara posted this yesterday and it’s given me a lot to think about.

Basically, it boils down to the idea that willpower isn’t a trait that you’re born with; rather like a muscle, you have to develop it.

That makes me really glad actually!  In a weird way, it gives me hope.  I’ve always figured one of the reasons I got up to my highest weight was because I have no willpower.  And while that may have been true, if you believe the article Sara links to, it’s not anymore.  Every time I practice saying no to something like fast food or getting my (substantial) ass to the gym, I’m “working out” my willpower.

I figure this explains why I’ve never been able to make a diet lifestyle stick before.  As I’ve explained when I’ve talked about lifting weights, I like to see results NOW!  Not three months down the road!  I’ve always bitched and moaned about how hard it is to dig deep and find the will to keep going.  I had no idea that by putting my head down and just DOING IT, I would be making it easier on myself.

I wish I had’ve known this before.  Maybe it would have made a difference all the other times I tried to lose weight.

One thing that’s been plaguing me for the last six months or so is this:  why didn’t I do this sooner?  It’s not like it was any harder back then?  I know I still have a long way to go and it won’t be easy, but at least I’m doing SOMETHING.  I could have taken my fate into my own hands anytime in the last ten years.

Why didn’t I?

 

2 Responses to “Willpower”

  1. SHE-FIT Says:

    Oh instant gratification… wouldn’t it be nice to eat well for one day and all the weight just melted off us?

    I know you are wishing you started this journey earlier, but look, you are doing it now! You are making changes that are going to affect the rest of your life! You are doing such a great job. Stay strong and celebrate for what you are doing now!

  2. aperfectversionofmyself Says:

    I think I would be much more willing to do anything if it arrived with instant gratification.

    Thanks for the encouragement!


Leave a Reply

