A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

Open Heart Surgery August 31, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tara @ 5:33 pm
Tags:

I’m sitting here at work, waiting for a shipment to come in so I can get it cleared for entry into the United States.  I was supposed to leave about an hour ago, but here I am….waiting.  That is the worst part of my job….the waiting.

I went to see my surgeon on Wednesday and guess what?!  I get to have my gallbladder taken out!

Apparently, my weight loss is to blame.  I’ve been having these horrible stomach problems for about six months and I finally broke down and went to the doctor about them.  My doc sent me for an ultrasound, which uncovered the gallstones, prompting a referral to the surgeon. 

October 19th.  That’s when I’m having a (small) internal organ removed.  I wonder how this can be ok?  I mean, I know lots of people who are living very happy lives missing small pieces of themselves (gallbladders, appendixes, the tips of their fingers) but I’m still a bit wary of having something removed that was put in me for a purpose.

Whatever, I’m just being paranoid.  It’ll be fine, I’m sure.

It’s going to be done laparoscopically and I have to take two weeks off from work to recover (don’t get me started on my managers reactions to this – let’s just say it wasn’t pretty) and I should be as good as new, but without the grinding, stomach pressure that’s been plaguing me lately.

It might be pathetic, but I’m more worried about this gallbladder removal fucking with my weight loss than anything else.  I know, it’s superficial, but dammit!  I’ve worked really hard and I don’t want to be side tracked by a surgery!

Something I forgot to ask though: how long do you think it’ll be before I’m able to exercise again?  Three weeks?  Six weeks?

 

3 Responses to “Open Heart Surgery”

  1. Woah! Good luck with the surgery, I hope it goes well! I have no idea about how long until you can exercise. Definitely ask your doctors about that and don’t rush yourself.

  2. forthrightfattie Says:

    Sorry to hear about the surgery–and it totally makes sense that you’d be concerned about how it will affect your weight loss. However, I’m sure that you’ll be fine–you have enough willpower and discipline that you’ll get back on track once you’re ready and won’t use it as an excuse.

  3. aperfectversionofmyself Says:

    Thanks for the encouragement guys….I’m more nervous than I’m letting on.


Leave a Reply

