A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

Awesome September 8, 2009

Filed under: Weight Loss Updates — Tara @ 11:25 pm
Tags:

Do you know what I did today?  DO YOU?!  HUH?!

Today was the day I went to Weight Watchers and lost over 100 lbs.  101.6 to be exact.  I mean, sure, I didn’t do all of that work TODAY, but I felt the weight (ha!) of all of my hard work when I stepped on the scale this afternoon and saw the results.  I lost 4.6 lbs this week and bounced myself over the 100 lb mark.

At my meeting, Jill (the best WW leader in history – argue with me all you like about how yours is good, mine is GREAT) kept asking me how it felt to have lost 100 lbs and I couldn’t describe it.  I still can’t.  I think maybe it’s a bit like giving birth.  You do all this hard work, push and push and push and then all of a sudden, BOOM.  All those tears, all that effort and all that SWEAT has given you something really awesome.  Something to be proud of and something to point at and say, “I did that”.  Giving birth and losing weight are also similar in that your body is never the same and you have a lot of stretch marks. 

For fun, I figured I’d tell you all about how great and crazy Jill is.  Someone else was weighing me in and Jill came over to watch – she knew I was close to a big landmark and even suggested I go pee before they weighed me.  I laughed and then the number came up.  For the first time, I craned my neck to see over the counter.  I saw the first three digits were 226 and knew I had done it.  Jill came busting around the counter and grabbed me by my shoulders.  She started screaming and jumping and before I knew it, the two of us were hugging, leaping in circles, screaming, laughing and crying, all at once.  It lasted about a minute and every person in that building was staring at us.  She stood there and hugged me while I sobbed.  That’s why she’s the greatest WW leader in history.

This weight loss thing has been very emotional for me.  I’ve lost track of the number of times I’ve confessed to crying on this blog.  GAINING all this weight was like losing myself a piece at a time and every pound I take off feels like one more piece of myself I’m taking BACK.

Tonight was awesome.  I went to an extra Zumba class and sweated with a grin on my face.  Nothing can stop me from taking back my life.  Nothing at all.

 

7 Responses to “Awesome”

  1. MamaBearJune Says:

    Awwww, that’s incredibly sweet. CONGRATULATIONS!!!! You have done an awesome job and worked HARD to get where you are now. You deserve to celebrate so we’ll all dance with you!!!!!

  2. WOOOOO! That’s really all that needs to be said.

  3. MizFit Says:

    LOVE LOVE THE SENTENCE ABOUT TAKING BACK YOUR LIFE.

    LOVE.

    (and yes. I am, indeed, screaming at you :))

  4. chubrubb Says:

    I’m glad to find your blog and have this as the most recent note. I have read all your archive and I’m just impressed by your motivation! You did (do) an awesome job! Congratulations and I’ll keep reading!

  5. Janet Says:

    I just found your blog (from chubrubb’s recommendation!) and it’s really great. Congratulations on passing that 100 pound milestone!

  6. aperfectversionofmyself Says:

    MamaBearJune – Thanks for stopping by and thanks for dancing with me!

    FF – I’ll add a HOOOOO! to that sentiment!

    MizFit – Welcome to the blog, feel free to scream at me anytime you want!

    chubrubb – I’m in shock that someone read my archives! I basically say the same thing over and over (and it usually involves tears)! Thanks for reccommending me to all your readers!

    Janet – Thanks for the congratulations!

  7. Chibi Jeebs Says:

    Aww, man! Now I’M crying! lol That is *so* incredibly awesome. I hope you’re very proud of yourself! 🙂


Leave a Reply

