A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

Queen of Las Vegas September 18, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tara @ 2:00 pm
Tags:

I’m leaving for Las Vegas on Sunday!!

It’s been almost six months since I started planning this trip – mostly because I require that much time to scrape up the funds for stuff like this – and I can’t believe it’s almost here!

I’m nervous about going, food-wise.

I know that I’m on vacation and I know that I deserve a “break” from counting calories, but since this is a lifestyle change rather than a diet, I don’t feel like going away and having a food free for all.  That’s not a lifestyle I really want to cultivate.  I don’t want to be one of those people who come back from vacation and find I can’t get my jeans on.

Therefore, like everything else, I’ve got a plan.  I really believe the only way to succeed at this lifestyle change thing is to always be prepared, just like a Girl Guide (or Scout for my readers from south of the border) and to have a plan.

The plan is thus:

Watch what I’m eating.  No going overboard.  Fruit, egg white omelets (if I can find them), cereal with skim milk for breakfasts.  Lunch should be salads, soups or sandwiches.  Drink lots of water throughout the day.  TRY to avoid alcohol as much as possible.  Eat a SENSIBLE dinner – avoid bad stuff like fried foods and tons of cheese. 

I found a Weight Watchers close to the Vegas strip and I’m determined to do my weigh in on Tuesday like normal.  I think it will help me keep on track.

I’m going to have a really great birthday dinner though.  I made reservations at Mesa Grill and I plan to have an appetizer AND dessert!  It only comes around once a year so I figure it’s worth it.

My hotel has a gym but I think I’ll be too busy to use it.  I’m counting on walking tons every day while sightseeing and I’m hoping that will be enough exercise, in combination with sensible eating, to prevent a massive weight gain.  I’m willing to fluctuate up a bit, but I really don’t want to gain more than five pounds while I’m away.  I don’t think it would be so hard to gain a pound a day in a place called Sin City.

I have no idea what internet access will be available to me while I’m there and I’m not taking my laptop.  I’m looking forward to having an “unplugged” vacation.  If I spot a cafe, I’ll try to check in on Tuesday with my WW results.  Otherwise, I’ll talk at you next Saturday!

 

4 Responses to “Queen of Las Vegas”

  1. Fat Girl Says:

    Thanks for the note you left on my blog. 🙂 I will add you to my blog roll if you don’t mind. I need all the encouragement I can get! (Don’t we all?!)

    ENJOY your trip! You can stay on track! You’ve obviously got tremendous strength! For me, staying on track requires focusing on everything OTHER THAN the food!

    I can’t wait to hear that you easily fit back into those jeans…

  2. chubrubb Says:

    You have the right attitude! Enjoy your break!

  3. SeaShore Says:

    Sounds like you have a good plan in place to succeed. Enjoy your vacation!

  4. Have a blast! And especially enjoy your birthday dinner, and take a minute to reflect on all that you’ve achieved in the last year.


Leave a Reply

