A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

Too Much Food September 27, 2009

Filed under: Weight Loss Updates — Tara @ 4:45 pm
Tags:

I’m back!

I updated my stats.  I weighed in at WW in Las Vegas and was down 5.4 lbs this week.  I’m not celebrating too hard because I’m sure it’s going to bounce back up this week.  For now, I’m enjoying it.

I mentioned having a plan and I did do my very best to stick to it, however life is life and Vegas is full of food and booze.  Once I got there, I added an amendment to my plan.  I was allowed to eat QUALITY food, not just stuff myself with mass quantities of junk.  It really did help me in that I don’t regret a single mouthful I ate while away.

Let’s recap the eating, shall we?

On the day of travel from Toronto to Vegas (via Buffalo and Atlanta), I did awesome.  I packed snacks and ate well during the travel.  When I got to Vegas I calculated that I had 18 points left for the day and had a sandwich with some salad for dinner.  I did not join my sister and mom when they arrived and ate at midnight.  Score: 1/1

Monday (my birthday), I had oatmeal and fruit salad for breakfast/lunch.  Walked TONS – going from hotel to hotel, seeing the shark reef at Mandalay Bay, solving a crime CSI style and watching an episode of the Good Wife and rating it for CBS television.  Dinner was my birthday blowout at the Mesa Grill (owned by Bobby Flay).  I shared a goat’s cheese appetizer with my mom and sister, ordered the sixteen spice chicken with pesto mashed potatoes and had some kind of blackberry pastry thing for dessert.  I only had one drink with my meal and I’m pretty proud of myself for that.  Score: 1.5/2

Tuesday, I did my weigh in and then had oatmeal, toast and fruit at the Rainforest Cafe.  Saw the lions at the MGM Grand and commenced with the walking.  We toured the M&M store and the Coke store.  Walked and walked and walked.  We ended up at the brand new Hard Rock Cafe where I split a plate of nachos (my nemesis) with my mom and sister and had a couple of drinks.  Then we went to the Paris hotel and rode up the Eiffel Tower and watched the fountains at the Bellagio go off.  Walked and walked and walked some more. Score: 2/3.

Wednesday we went to Denny’s where I’m pretty sure I saw Rhianna.  I had scrambled egg whites, chicken sausage, fruit and hash browns (oops).  We bought tickets for a show and then commenced with the walking.  We went up the strip, stopping at Paris again, going through the Flamingo and Planet Hollywood.  We stopped around 3 pm and had a margarita (raspberry – so good) at Margaritaville….along with the best nachos I’ve ever eaten.  We walked to the Wynn and gaped at the luxury.  Eventually we crossed the street and stopped at Treasure Island to take a cab back to our hotel.  Where we had a nap.  I know, I’m 28 years old and I napped in Vegas, but we were tired and we had tickets to see a show!  We wanted to be refreshed to enjoy it!  When we woke up, we got dressed, ate a soft pretzel and rushed across the street to see KA.  Seriously, if you are in Vegas you must see this show.  It’s a Cirque du Soleil production and I really can’t say enough good things about it.  Visit the link and see how amazing it looks for yourself.  After the show, we sat on the patio at our hotel’s Irish pub and drank far too much.  Score: 2.5/4.

Thursday was kind of a disaster.  We took a cab to Caesars because my mom’s feet were blistered and had brunch at the Cheesecake Factory.  My sister had been dying to eat there since we landed and I didn’t feel like I could say no.  I also could have made some better choices.  I ate a hamburger and some fries and then ordered a piece of key lime cheesecake.  We walked around some more, visiting Treasure Island again and walking through Fashion Show mall.  Then my mom and I got in a huge fight and I left her and my sister and started walking back to the hotel.  I thought I was going to die.  It’s so frigging hot in Vegas and the sun was beating down on me.  I eventually made it back to the hotel and layed down in a dark room to quietly expire.  My mom and sister showed up and  my mom apologized for being a huge bitch (which she was) and we got dressed to go out to dinner.  Somehow we ended up at the Venetian, eating at Emeril Lagasse’s steakhouse (Delmonico).  I ate the best crab cake I’ve ever eaten (also, the only crab cake I’ve ever eaten) and some steak, mashed potatoes and asparagus.  It was awesome.  It was also insanely expensive.  We then took a cab to Freemont street and saw the light show.  Score: 2.5/5

Overall, I did ok.  It could have been worse, it could have been better but through it all, I think I really loved everything I ate (with the exception maybe of the burger at the Cheesecake Factory).  I know I’ll gain some weight this week when I weigh in, but I’m cool with that.  I’m not planning to eat like this every day, I was on vacation and I refuse to regret it.  I also give myself credit because I really wanted to eat at Fatburger AND In and Out Burger, but I didn’t.  I’ve been tracking and eating within my points since my return and will be just fine.  I’ll post some pictures from Vegas sometime this week, as I let people take my picture for the first time in years on this trip.

 

5 Responses to “Too Much Food”

  1. Fat Girl Says:

    Woo-hoo! I am proud of you! (And inspired by you.) I think the thing that inspires me most is that you allowed yourself to be human on this trip. That’s monumental in my mind. I struggle with vacations because I expect perfection. And then, when I don’t achieve it, I allow myself to run wild the rest of my vacation.

    Your experience motivates me. Thank you.

    Thanks for sharing!

  2. Chibi Jeebs Says:

    Welcome home! I’m glad you had a good time — I love Vegas! Sounds like you did really well at striking a balance between staying on track and still enjoying your vacation (plus, with allllll the walking you do in Vegas, it’s a little harder to feel guilty *wink*). Kudos to you! 🙂

  3. Sounds like you did an amazing job, finding a great balance between good choices (in terms of calories) and good choices (in terms of VACATION.)

  4. chubrubb Says:

    Looks like you had a good time, and you didn’t “let yourself go”! I can’t believe there is a restaurant called “Fatburger”… Really?

  5. aperfectversionofmyself Says:

    Fat Girl – I don’t think anyone DOESN’T struggle with vacation!

    Chibi – allll that walking is what made me relax a bit about the food – so you’re right!

    FF – I think I did the best I could with what I had. That’s all you can ask for, right?

    Chubrubb – There really IS a restaurant called Fatburger. My guidebook had a whole page devoted to it, calling it the best burger on the strip. I’m still kinda bummed I didn’t at least make my sister order one so I could have a bite.


Leave a Reply

