A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

Eat to the Beat October 6, 2009

Filed under: Goals and Expectations,Weight Loss Updates — Tara @ 1:56 pm
Tags:

Another 1 lb is gone!  I’ve also hit a new “decade” of numbers this week, which is definitely cause for a celebration.

Two things to report.

First, after many obese years of searching for them close to my home, I can now finally get a shish taouk without driving for an hour.  These sandwiches are so freaking awesome.  It’s warm pita, garlic sauce, spiced grilled chicken, lettuce, tomatoes, pickled turnips and spiced onions, wrapped up and grilled to perfection.  During my brief stay in Montreal, I got obsessed with these but they’ve never really caught on in my lame suburb and it’s a shame.  Finally, a Villa Medina opened in the mall I work at part-time and I can get my fix!

Of course, I’m not so certain this is a good thing.  They’re not HORRIBLE for you, it’s mostly chicken and veggies, the garlic sauce isn’t the greatest, but it’s not a disaster either.  The problem is that this is one of those foods, where all I want to do is eat it over and over again.  I had one for dinner last night and I want it again tonight.  I’ve been thinking about it all day!  Now I understand how other people feel about chocolate!  I have to figure out how to muscle through this craving somehow.

Second thing is that I’ve set a new major-mini goal.  I know, contradiction, right?

But return from vacations are not good for me.  The time off from pushing myself always feels so great that I give in to the urge to be lazy far too often.  After I visited my mom, I had real trouble getting out of the “60’s” because I wasn’t as focused as I could be.  I set myself a goal to achieve, one with a time limit and it worked a treat!  I’m going to do it again!

Here it is:  by the time we find ourselves in 2010, I want to be out of the “two-club” forever and into “one-derland” (even though I hate that term and will never again use it).  That gives me twelve weeks to lose about 20 lbs, averaging out to 1.6 lbs per week.  Sounds like it could happen.  But!  There are many things standing between me and the “one-club”.  I have surgery, and then the recovery from surgery (thus limiting my workouts for a while) and then the dreaded CHRISTMAS SEASON.  CHRISTMAS SEASON which is filled with parties, insane work schedules and stress.  Lots and lots of stress.

I needed focus and a goal and I think this will really help me get through the next twelve weeks without eating myself into a food coma.

Wish me luck!

 

4 Responses to “Eat to the Beat”

  1. MamaBearJune Says:

    Ooh, that sounds yummy. Your trip to Vegas looks like it was a lot of fun and good for you coming back with a loss in weight! 🙂

  2. Good luck on your new goals for 2010!! Like you said it won’t be easy with holiday season coming up but let’s all do this together!

  3. newbierunner Says:

    Oh, my mouth is watering from the description of that sandwich. Yum. Good luck with your goal. You can do it!

  4. chubrubb Says:

    Good luck! I’m sure you’ll do it!


Leave a Reply

