A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

Honest October 9, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tara @ 12:10 pm
Tags:

honestscrap1

 

 

Newbierunner was so kind and awarded me the Honest Scrap award.  I’ll be honest, I was really excited to receive it – and not just because I’ve never gotten an award before!

So the rules of this award are that I have to share 10 things about myself that people don’t know.  By people, I’m assuming you mean internet people, because I’m sure a few of my friends might know some of these little tidbits.

Here goes:

1.  I have an excellent singing voice (if I do say so myself).  I can belt right along with most singers and I’m rarely off key.  However, I suffer from extreme shyness when it comes to letting anyone actually HEAR me sing and  it’s mostly my windshield that gets to enjoy the pleasure of my voice.

2.  I get a secret thrill every time a new month starts and the list of my archives gets longer.  It just seems like a sign of success, like shouting “I’m still here!  I’m still fighting the good fight!”.  It makes me happy and proud EVERY SINGLE MONTH.

3.  I have a Miley Cyrus song on my iPod.  I have deep, deep shame surrounding this and I apologize to music fans everywhere.

4.  I may actually have the world’s ugliest feet.  They’re really fat and wide, but super small at the same time (which makes buying shoes a treat!).  The toes possess the merest sliver of nail and the middle toes are deformed on both feet and they almost look like they’re on sideways.  Needless to say, I don’t wear sandals very often.

5.  Even though I’m (recently) 28 years old, I still get horrid crushes on celebrities.  It’s actually ridiculous.  I feel stupid even telling all of you this.  It’s even worse because my current obsession is on a FUCKING CW SHOW.  The horror.  The horror.

6.  This one is not necessarily a secret, but most of you readers will not know that my sister Caitlyn had a liver transplant four years ago this December.  She was 17 at the time and, contrary to what you see on Grey’s Anatomy or House, life doesn’t return to normal afterwards.  It’s been four years of ups and downs, hospital visits and doctors appts.  She mostly does ok, in fact these last four months have been the best she’s felt since the surgery, but sometimes life is harder for her than other people.  It’s not fair but that’s her reality now and she does an awesome job of keeping on.

7.  My sister is my own personal hero – even though she’s seven years younger than me and terrified of confrontation with my mother, leaving me to fight those battles for her.  I figure it’s the least I can do for her, especially considering I live 850 miles from my mother and my sister lives around the corner from her.

8.  I have a chicken-shit dog.  The list of things he’s afraid of include (but are not limited to): thunderstorms, the staircase leading to our second floor, ceramic tile floors, the window covering in our bathroom, the hall leading from the kitchen to the front door, walking head first from the kitchen to the dining room (he always turns around and backs his way in), other dogs, other cats, the mice that invaded our garden shed, grapes, his leash, rolled up newspapers, the children who live next door to us (but not any other children) and HIS OWN FLATULENCE.  I sincerely wish I was making this up.  He’s not a small dog either (he’s a yellow lab/golden retriever mix), weighing about 65 lbs.  When you walk him, he cowers in terror every time you cross the path of another dog and it’s embarrassing, especially when it’s that stupid Multi-Poo  that lives down the street.  This usually has me yelling at him that “YOU COULD EAT THAT LITTLE THING!  WHY ARE YOU AFRAID OF HIM?!”  It’s humiliating.

9.  I talk to my dog like he understands me.  I do it all the time.  Sometimes, my grandmother asks me who I’m talking to and when I tell her I’m talking to the dog, there’s this long pause.  Then I realize that it might not be normal.  But I swear, he gets this look in his eyes sometimes…..it’s like he’s listening to me.  Or he’s eyeing the big hunk of cheese I’m holding in my hand during our “conversations”.  You know, whatever.

10.  I’m pretty sure I don’t want kids – not because I don’t like kids (although I really don’t), because I’m sure I would love my own.  It’s mostly because sometimes I hear my mother coming out of my mouth and I’m powerless to stop it.  The idea of screwing up a kid the way she screwed me up is terrifying in the extreme.  I think of how much I’m like her and I can feel my ovaries issue a stop-work order.  I think I’m better off sticking to dogs and cats.

So there you go!  Some weird facts about me that might have been a surprise.

I have to tag ten other people to receive this and they are:

Nicole @ The Forthright Fattie

Chubrubb @ The Chub Fight

KK @ Running Through Life

Fat Girl @ The 391

Chibi @ One Fine Neurotic Mess

Janet @ Does This Blog Make Me Look Fat

Lisa @ In Weigh Over My Head

Mary @ A Merry Life

Amos @ Amos the Lionheart

Jenn @ Watch My Butt Shrink

These are all blogs I read on a regular basis and they’re all great!

 

9 Responses to “Honest”

  1. Briel Says:

    Coming out of the woodwork….

    Omg. Is it Supernatural? Tell me it’s Supernatural.

  2. Briel Says:

    Ok. So that was a bit abrupt. Hi. I’ve been reading your blog, and I like that it’s so honest about weight loss. I’ve been doing it alone and it’s nice to see that other people are going through the same steps as I am.

    (Have you read what Cesar Milan thinks about scared dogs?)

  3. chubrubb Says:

    I was gonna say how cute are you with your dog! And then I see you’ve given me an award! Thank youuuu!!!

  4. aperfectversionofmyself Says:

    Briel – welcome to the blog! I’ve never really watched the Dog Whisperer, but since my dogs problems are more annoying than anything else, and since he’s twelve and not likely to change, I’m ok with it.

    And yes, it is Supernatural. And yes, I’m a definite Dean-girl. Sigh. So embarassing.

    Chubrubb – you’re welcome! I love, love, love your blog!

  5. newbierunner Says:

    I loved your responses. Thank you for sharing with all of us. I think that’s great that you care for your sister so much. I talk to my pets too. 🙂

  6. Chibi Jeebs Says:

    Oh, wow! Thank you! I’ll work on my entry as soon as this cold stops kicking my butt. 😉

    Thanks again — I feel honoured! 🙂

  7. forthrightfattie Says:

    Aw man, I was hoping it was Chuck Bass.

    And, thanks for the award! I’m an idiot, though, I don’t really know how these things work, and I’m worried because I don’t really have 10 people I can pass this along to. Most of the blogs I read are really established and there’s no way they ever read my blog (dietgirl, pastaqueen, etc.) Can I list the 10 things, pass on the award to a few people, and then swear to be better about reading blogs? I could start with the ones on your list! Or is that cheating?

  8. aperfectversionofmyself Says:

    Newbierunner – I’m glad I’m not the only one who talks to their pets!

    Chibi – I can’t wait to read your responses!

    FF – I’ve never watched Gossip Girl and the guy who plays CB would probably be hotter with his real accent.
    I don’t think it’s cheating AT ALL! I think sending it to blogs you really love is better than picking random ones just to have someone to send it to.

  9. MamaBearJune Says:

    Praying for your sister. My 19yo son has Cystic Fibrosis and he has gone through some really crappy stints in the hospital. But he’s an amazing young man and he’s my hero! So I definitely know what you are talking about.

    It makes me very, very sad that you don’t want kids because of your mom. God blessed me with an amazing mom, she passed away in April and I miss her every day. Wish everyone had as wonderful a mom.

    And I think people who do NOT talk to their pets are the freaks. My furbabies are feline. 😉

    And I just have to say that your feet sound scarier than Paranormal Activities. LOL


Leave a Reply

