A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

Doctor, Doctor October 16, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tara @ 2:54 pm
Tags:

I had my annual physical yesterday.  A few things have changed since last October and for the first time in my life I wasn’t DREADING the experience (I wasn’t looking forward to it either – hello, stirrups!).

Last year, I was so overweight that the scale in my doctor’s office couldn’t weigh me.  It’s capacity was *only* 300 lbs, so my doctor just wrote “over 300 lbs” on my chart and left it at that.  I remember seeing that and feeling horrible about myself.  The words “MORBIDLY OBESE” seemed to jump off the page at me, screaming out how far I’d let my life get away.  I cried all the way home (stopping at a drive thru to grab lunch though).  The part that bothered me most was the most insignificant in the grand scheme of things – the paper gown they make you wear barely squeezed onto my upper arms and didn’t come close to closing at the back.  For some reason, that was the most humiliating part of a pretty embarrassing experience.

This time?  Totally different.  My blood pressure (which has always been pretty low) averaged 106 over 68 and my resting pulse rate was 50 BPM.  My doctor couldn’t believe that – she took it three times to make sure.  She told me that only athletes have a resting pulse that low, leading me to crow with delight (in my head – I’m not THAT crazy)!  It’s the first time I’ve ever had anything in common with an athlete except a tendency to carb-load.  Apparently it IS possible to be both fat AND fit!  Woo!  She even wrote that my BMI is “an extremely healthy 35”.  I guess to show that even though it’s still too high, she’s not too concerned.

It was one of the best doctors visits I’ve ever had (stirrups included).

She also reassured me that I won’t have giant boobs forever.  I didn’t mention this before, but I recently went bra shopping and was horrified to discover that, although I’ve lost more than 8 inches in my band size, I’m EXACTLY THE SAME CUP SIZE!!  That’s right!  My boobs are giant!  I’m a 38F these days – which is insane!  No one gets that narrow, while staying that full!  The lady at the store told me that if I get down to a 34 (which is possible, I still have back fat and 75 lbs to lose), my bras will have to be special ordered.  Gah.  I’m so terrified I’m going to end up looking like a Jessica!  Simpson or Rabbit, either one is no good!

Anyway.  My doctor told me that when I get to within ten to fifteen pounds of my goal weight, come and see her.  If my boobs are still that large, she’ll send me to have a reduction and lift.  Apparently, it’s not just an aesthetic problem, it will also affect my back, shoulders and neck and therefore it will be medically necessary.  Medically necessary = paid for by government health care.

So there you go – another first for me.  A doctors visit that didn’t end in tears/rage.

 

5 Responses to “Doctor, Doctor”

  1. Janet Says:

    Congrats on the positive doctor visit!

    Just thought I’d share, I have had a breast reduction, so if you start seriously considering it, I’d be glad to tell you about my experiences. I was quite pleased with it, however, it’s been over 10 years ago, and my boobs are HUGE again. I’ve gained about 40 pounds, but still.

  2. Great visit! I know you were happy to hear all the positive feedback! Sounds like you are doing great with all your healthy changes. And by the way, thanks for dropping by and leaving an inspiring comment. It really helped!

  3. aperfectversionofmyself Says:

    Thanks for the offer Janet, I’ll certainly take the opportunity to pick your brain if I start really thinking about the breast reduction!

    Melissa – I’m glad I could help!

  4. awesome! I had my physical a couple months ago too, after hiding from my Doc for 3 yrs.. it was a good one too. 🙂 Feels great, don’t it?

  5. Pam Says:

    I wish I lived in Canada (your health care plan RULES)! My hideous upper arms and huge boobs will be with me forever down here in the lower 48, where my health care plan won’t even pay for weight loss surgery. Oh well, I’ve seen people who had that surgery fail at the weight loss game, so I’ll just continue trying to do it on my own. Down 100 lbs., 60 more to go.


Leave a Reply

