A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

Gratitude December 21, 2009

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tara @ 11:56 am
Tags:

This year marks the four-year anniversary of my sister Caitlyn’s liver transplant. 

I can’t describe to you what it’s like to watch someone fight for their life.  It’s horrifying and heartbreaking, nerve-wracking and exhausting.  I sincerely hope that you and your families never, ever have to go through anything like it.

I want to say thank you to some people I’ve never met. People I will probably never meet.

To the families of the people who donated their livers so my sister can live, I just want to offer my undying gratitude. You of all people know what it’s like to lose someone close to you, and you prevented myself and my family from knowing the same grief.

I think about you all the time.

I know that while my family is celebrating a happy anniversary, you are soberly reflecting on an anniversary of your own. I think about our Christmas miracle, as we sometimes refer to her, and know that your miracle never came.  You had to say goodbye to your loved one four years ago.

You are kind and generous people who gave my 17-year-old sister the chance to reach her twenties, go to college and even move in with her long-term boyfriend (I’m still not sure how I feel about that one). Your gift was so priceless and benevolent that I don’t actually have adequate words to thank you properly. I am humbled by your choice to donate your loved ones organs.

Merry Christmas to you and all your families. May you have some peace and know that even though your loved one isn’t with you, they live on in my sister and others like her who received their gift of life from your relative. You are in my thoughts and prayers constantly and you have my sincere gratitude.

God bless you and your family.

 

One Response to “Gratitude”

  1. Chub Says:

    That was a very touching post. I’m glad your sister is OK now.


Leave a Reply

