A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

The Concept January 1, 2010

Filed under: Goals and Expectations — Tara @ 2:17 pm
Tags:

Since its January 1st, I believe the time has come for me to make my resolutions known to the world. 

Last year my resolution was simple: lose weight.  I didn’t particularly care how much weight, I just wanted to take off as much as I could.  I ended 2009 having lost about 129 lbs (although the New Years Eve indulgence has yet to be accounted for) and feel like a completely different person than I did last January. 

This year it’s different.  I still want to lose about 55 lbs, but I really don’t care how long it takes to shed them.  Don’t get me wrong, I still plan to follow my WW points and get plenty of exercise, but I realized the other day that if I never lost another pound, I could be happy at this weight.  I guess a benefit of being over 300 lbs is feeling skinny at 199.  I can now find cute clothes that fit in sizes that aren’t Plus, I can bound up flights of stairs, I no longer have to circle parking lots looking for close spots because I can park at the back and walking to the doors is no problem.  I’m happier and healthier than I’ve ever been in my adult life so this year, my focus will be on fitness resolutions, not losing weight.  I also have a plan and timeline for how I’m going to complete these goals, leaving me less likely to not accomplish them.

Without further ado, here is my To-Do list for 2010:

1.  Take swimming lessons –  Now, I wouldn’t drown if I fell off a boat.  I can float, tread water and dog paddle, but I’m not a strong swimmer and I can’t put my face in the water.  This is a problem because of another of my goals involves being a strong swimmer, therefore lessons are in order.  I’ve already called the city parks department and discovered that adults must take private lessons, so I’m saving my pennies to be able to sign up for these in February.

2.  Sign up for a Learn to Run 5K – they offer these in my town at the Running Room.  I want to take up running outdoors, and I’ve thought many times about doing the Couch to 5K but I’d really like to tackle it in a group format, and I think joining a running group is the way to go.  I don’t want to learn to run on ice, so I’m waiting till March for this one.

3.  Run a 5K in May – at the end of the LTR program, you are signed up for a 5K run and I can’t wait to be able to say that I’ve done this!

4.  Ride my bike – I bought a bike last year and barely used it.  My ass just cannot take sitting on that tiny little seat, so I’m going to buy padded shorts and hit spin classes until the good weather comes around and hope that my bum is broken in enough to withstand that hard, tiny seat in the spring.

5.  Take up yoga or Pilates – I’ve been wanting to do this for some time now, but I never seemed to find the time.  No more!  If it means sacrificing some of my beloved cardio, then so be it.  I want to be more flexible and balanced and I am going to make the time to take these classes.  They are offered at my gym so there is really no excuse.

6.  WEIGHT TRAINING – I put this off and put this off because I hate it.  I hate lifting weights.  It makes me so tired (as opposed to cardio which energizes me) and I can never keep it up long enough to see results.  I am resolving to get in at least two weight workouts per week using a program from a book I bought about nine months ago and have never used.

7.  Run a half-triathlon – I would like to accomplish this by the end of the year and it’s the goal I’m most nervous about.  It’s the reason I want to be a better swimmer and why I want to take up biking.  My uncle Chris has expressed an interest in doing this with me and I really like to have long-term goals to work towards.  I don’t think I’m a distance runner (no marathons in my future) but I love the idea of an event that uses biking, running and swimming, so I figure I’ll give a triathlon my best shot.  I’ll start with half-tri’s and move to full ones eventually.

There you have it.  The seven things I’m working towards in 2010.  What are you planning to do with your year?

 

3 Responses to “The Concept”

  1. Chibi Jeebs Says:

    Those sound like good, attainable goals! I haven’t really nailed anything down yet: I’m on day 9 of 10 days off, and my head really isn’t into… well, thinking. I see a lot of introspection come Monday, though.

    Happy New Year! 🙂

  2. Wow, you are going to be active this year! Will be watching your progress!

  3. […] and Expectations — aperfectversionofmyself @ 3:21 pm Tags: Beastie Boys I set myself some New Years Resolutions this year for the first time in a long time.  It’s now the end of March, which means that a […]


Leave a Reply

