A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

Frizzle Fry January 25, 2010

Filed under: Recipes — Tara @ 9:25 pm
Tags:

I believe I promised you a recipe, didn’t I?

I made this last week and plan on eating it again this week.  It was so freaking good, I can’t even tell you.  I got it out of a Weight Watchers cookbook that my mom gave me for Christmas and the book was worth it, just for this recipe.

Garlic Beef and Snow Peas

Ingredients:

5 garlic cloves minced

1 TBSP minced peeled ginger

12 oz boneless sirloin steak, trimmed and cut into thin strips

4 scallions cut into 1 inch lengths

1 1/2 cups trimmed snow peas

1 large red bell pepper, thinly sliced

1/3 cup reduced sodium chicken broth

2 TBSPs reduced sodium soy sauce

1 tsp sugar

1 1/2 TBSP cornstarch

1 TBS water

1/2-1 tsp chilli garlic sauce

Spray a non-stick wok with non-stick spray and set over high heat.  When pan is hot enough for a drop of water to sizzle in it, add the garlic and ginger and stir fry until fragrant (approx 1 min).  Add the beef and stir fry until browned (approx 3 mins).

Add the scallions, snow peas and red pepper, stir fry approx 1 min.  Add the broth, soy sauce and sugar and bring to a simmer.  Reduce heat and simmer, stirring occasionally (approx 2 mins).

Meanwhile, in a mug, stir together cornstarch, water and chilli garlic sauce until smooth.  Add to the wok and stir fry until the sauce thickens and bubbles (approx 30 seconds).

Makes 4 one-cup servings

Calories: 159;  Fat: 3 grams;  Fiber: 2 grams;  POINTS value: 3

Now, my tips are thus:  make sure you have everything prepped before you start (veggies cut up, meat sliced, cornstarch mixture mixed) because it cooks extremely fast.  Also, be careful with that chilli garlic sauce.  I cut the recipe in half but figured I would use the entire amount of the chilli garlic sauce because a) I like spicy and b) I’m no wimp.  My mouth was on fire for at least an hour after I finished eating.  I also served this over quinoa and it sopped up all the yummy sauce.  So, so good.

 

3 Responses to “Frizzle Fry”

  1. forthrightfattie Says:

    Sounds delicious–thanks for taking the time to type it all out for us!

  2. Lauren Says:

    I know you posted this some months ago, but it looks so good I just had to comment! This is even something my hubby would eat!! On my list of things to make for dinner next week for sure.

    Which WW cookbook is this from?

  3. aperfectversionofmyself Says:

    It’s from the Weight Watchers in 20 Minutes cookbook – it’s a turquoise binder-style one. I eat out of it all the time.


Leave a Reply

