A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

The Hockey Song March 2, 2010

Filed under: Weight Loss Updates — Tara @ 8:15 pm
Tags:

Last week was a disappointment, but I figured it had to do with my “heavy” week of the month.  I was right!  I lost 4.4 lbs this week, which I can only assume is the two weeks put together.

These four pounds coming off is very exciting!  It means my BMI dropped to 29.7 and I AM NO LONGER OBESE.  I am merely an overweight person.  Woo Hoo.  It’s almost as exciting as a certain gold medal game that occurred this Sunday.  Almost, but not quite.

See, hockey is different in Canada.  It’s not like football or baseball in America.  Hockey here is a major part of our national identity.  I read online that over 85% of the country tuned in to watch the gold medal final of the men’s hockey.  85%!!!!  That means that only 15% of our total population had better things to do with a Sunday afternoon!  There were lines FOUR HOURS LONG to get into certain bars in Toronto to watch the game!

If the Americans had won (and they certainly fought hard enough to deserve it, Ryan Miller particularly), a segment of the population south of the border would have gone, ‘Yay’! and then moved on with their lives.  We’ll be all talking about this until the next Olympics!  People at work yesterday and today were dissecting the game and talking about Crosby, Nash and Perry all day long. 

I don’t remember why I started typing this diatribe about hockey, I must still be all riled up about the game.

Anyway, weight loss, yay!  Hockey, yay!  I’m off to Zumba and I wish you all a great week.  I’m running a 5K on Sunday and I’ll check back in afterwards, assuming I don’t die first.

 

3 Responses to “The Hockey Song”

  1. Good luck with the 5k! That’s awesome. And with the continued loss, and the milestone. I’ve been off blogging for a while now but have not given up the fight. Still enjoy reading along with your successes!

  2. Jess Says:

    Hockey got pretty popular in America due to the Olympics, plus with Ovechkin playing for the Caps, there is some “craze” but it’s not like Canada.

    Crosby is just too good. But the American team is young, they’ll be back and they’ll be more skilled. Out of the 20 people on your team, there were 14 All-Stars last year. There were 2 on the American side. I think we gave you guys a run for your money 🙂

    Good job with the loss though! Congrats on being in a whole different BMI category!

  3. Chibi Jeebs Says:

    Wow! Great loss, and GREAT news on the BMI! 🙂

    That hockey game was un.be.lievable. I thought I was going to have a heart attack, but I take my hockey a little seriously… lol

    Best of luck on the 5k!


Leave a Reply

