A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

You’ve Got the Love March 17, 2010

Filed under: Weight Loss Updates — Tara @ 8:23 pm
Tags:

Hey!  Did you miss me!  It’s been a long time since I’ve been able to update!  I have so many things to tell you about, including how my 5K went, so I’ll just dive right in.

Last week, due to my going-away party from my old job, I gained 1.8 lbs.  Ooops.  You’ll be glad to know it wasn’t really because of food, but more due to how much alcohol I consumed.  I usually keep track of how much I’m drinking based on how much money I have left in my pocket, but I only paid for one of my drinks and all my friends and coworkers bought the rest of them.  The result was that I was barely able to move the next day and I think I was still sweating booze during my run on Sunday.

This week, I’m down 1.6 lbs, which means that I basically broke even.  I’m still not obese, woo hoo, and I’m feeling great.  I’ve added a couple items to my list because I’m in such a good mood lately.  I started my new job, and I’m in that period where I feel really stupid and useless and like I’m never going to get it BUT I’M STILL IN A GREAT MOOD!  All those years, I figured people were nuts when they said that exercise is better than mood stabilizers, but they were right!  I’ve noticed on the weeks I take it easy on myself in terms of exercise, I’m grumpier.  I get moody and touchy and mean.  Exercise calms me down and mellows me out, much to my surprise.

I also ran a 5K race since the last time I updated!  It was so awesome.  I finished in 39:19, which is spectacular!  I was aiming to cross the finish line at 45 minutes, but my friend Kate (we met at our WW meetings) was super great at setting a good pace for us both and I was able to surprise myself!  I have pictures on a camera that I borrowed, but I don’t know where the cord is so….you’ll have to imagine me, navy blue Lululemon sweatshirt, Montreal Canadiens baseball cap, bright red face and grey capri pants crossing the finish line…..and then bursting into tears.  I think I scared the crap out of everyone around me because I COULD NOT STOP CRYING.

Sixteen months ago, I couldn’t carry my laundry basket from my basement to second floor bedroom without stopping to rest on the first floor.  Today, I can run (RUN!) 5K in less than 40 minutes.

Life is beautiful.

 

7 Responses to “You’ve Got the Love”

  1. Astrid Says:

    Congratulations! Great to hear how well you did on your run!

  2. Janet Says:

    That is an awesome story, and you should be so proud! I totally would have cried too.

  3. Chibi Jeebs Says:

    Congratulations! I am so proud of you! (Is that totally weird? lol)

    Glad to hear you’re in such a good place. 🙂 The bit about exercising and mood is making me wonder if that’s part of my problem – I’ve been in a funk all week (well, basically when I realized I didn’t do enough last week).

  4. Yaaaaaaaaaaaaay!

    That is all. ; )

  5. aperfectversionofmyself Says:

    Thanks guys! I really appreciate all your support along the way!

  6. Wow! What a moment!
    Truley happy for you. Look forward to more stories like this.

    Thanks for stopping my my blog!

    http://runningpretty.blogspot.com

  7. Laura Says:

    Congratulations! That is an awesome time for your first 5k and you have much to be proud of!


Leave a Reply

