A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

Walking on Sunshine April 4, 2010

Filed under: Goals and Expectations — Tara @ 7:01 pm
Tags:

I’ve decided to change-up the way I’ve been doing my goals.  15 lb increments was not a big deal when I was 300 lbs, but now losing 15 lbs takes me quite a bit longer and it’s becoming a bit overwhelming.  You see, when I’m at the gym or I’m struggling with my eating, I use my goals as an anchor (like they teach you at Weight Watchers).  I will repeat to myself how far I’ve got to go to the next goal and then use that as motivation.  I know I’ve said it before, but weight loss really is just talking yourself into and out of things you do or do not want to do and I truly believe this.  Because the goals seem really far away, they’re not really effective as anchors anymore and I think it’s one of the reasons I had such a rough March.

From now on, I’m going to focus on losing 10 lbs at a time.  I was recently inspired by someone on a Spark People message board who said that they “only” had to lose 10 lbs….but they had to do it 12 times.  That seemed so…refreshing!  I’m stealing it!  I’m going to amend it a little, I’m going to focus on getting out of each decade of number, bit by bit.  For now, the push is on to get out of the 180’s.

Another realization came this weekend with the gorgeous weather Southern Ontario experienced.  I decided to take the dog for a nice long walk along the beachfront on Good Friday.  It was awesome, very relaxing and certainly fun.  When I got home, I plugged the stats into SP and discovered that although I was merely strolling, I burned 280 calories during that walk!

It’s become ingrained in my head that exercise doesn’t “count” unless it’s strenuous.  Which is bullshit.  I’ve said before that I’m less fair to myself than to other people, but no matter how many times I tell remind myself of this, I still can’t seem to get it to sink in.  What I mean by that, is that I read other peoples blogs and they mention going for walks as their form of exercise and I cheer them!  I think it’s great that they’ve found something they enjoy and that they can fit into their day.  But me?  No way!  I have to be practically killing myself at the gym in order for it to be “real” exercise.

So on Sunday, I loaded the dog into the car and we went to a local conservation area.  I hooked him to his leash and away we went.  We walked to the most beautiful waterfall and he had a nice long drink (to fill the tank for the walk back, it’s not a real walk for him unless he “waters” every tree along the path) and then we walked back.  I felt great!  The walking was mostly easy, some hills were steep and I had to walk carefully but it was awesome.  I don’t care how many calories I burned, or how strenuous it was….all I care about was that it was fun!  And peaceful.  I always forget that there’s a point to working out, it’s so you can make your everyday life easier and better, not so you can ratchet up another level on the elliptical machine.

I hope you don’t forget that too.

 

3 Responses to “Walking on Sunshine”

  1. Chibi Jeebs Says:

    “…weight loss really is just talking yourself into and out of things you do or do not want to do…”

    Huh. Total light bulb moment here – thank you!

    I love walking: it’s my preferred form of exercise, particularly when I can do it down by the river/up at the lake. I know even a stroll is better than sitting on my behind, but that I can also get a “real” workout by picking up the pace. Is easy to do and easy on the body, so it doesn’t feel like a *chore*.

  2. chubrubb Says:

    I hope you take the time to realize how well you’ve done so far. You really are a star! I must confess I always get a little jealous when I read your posts in my feed reader but I think I need to praise you (like I shou-ou-ould) and tell you how awesome you are! Keep up the good job 🙂

  3. Rob Dyess Says:

    OOOOO!!!! I want to steal that too! Have to loose 10 lbs, 12 times! That is excellent.

    You know, It reminds me of when I am running… particularly when I am on a hill. I think to myself that I don’t have to get all the way up, I just have to get to the next expansion joint in the sidewalk. Then I repeat. Weird I guess!!

    Thanks! Enjoy the blog!!

    WeighDownSouth.com


Leave a Reply

