A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

Pancake May 2, 2010

Filed under: Recipes — Tara @ 9:55 am
Tags:

Breakfast is the most important meal, right?  Too bad all my favourite breakfast foods are horrifically bad for you (stuffed french toast, I’m looking at you) and I don’t want to eat them very often anymore.  Since breakfast is also my favourite meal of the day (see above: stuffed french toast), I have had more dreams about eating pancakes and waffles than eating any other food.  I miss the days of eating fancy breakfasts!

I found this recipe for Better Blueberry Pancakes in the Biggest Loser cookbook (the original) and contemplated making it all the time.  The problem?  It called for whole-grain oat flour and try as I might, Canadian grocery stores just did not carry it!  Worse, I tallied the nutritional info and found out that half the recipe (four small-ish pancakes or two giant ones) was only 2 WW points!  My search intensified and was finally victorious at Whole Foods last month (I’ve looked there before and they did not carry it).  Here’s the recipe so you too can enjoy the best pancakes I’ve ever eaten (they taste a bit like an blueberry-oatmeal cookie, but also like a pancake).

In a small bowl, combine the following:

1/2 cup of whole-grain oat flour (I found that Bob’s Whole Grains makes it)

1/2 tsp baking soda

1/4 tsp salt

In a smaller bowl, mix together:

1 large egg white, lightly beaten

1/4 tsp vanilla extract

1/2 cup reduced-fat buttermilk

Combine the wet and dry ingredients in the larger bowl and stir in 1/2 cup fresh or frozen (but not thawed) blueberries.  Dollop on a hot frying pan or griddle, sprayed with non-stick cooking spray, in 1/8 cup servings.  You should get eight small-ish pancakes out of this.  Or, you can use a 1/4 cup serving and get four giant pancakes. 

Nutritional info for HALF the recipe:

140 calories, 8 g protein, 20 g carbs, 3 g fat, 3 g fibre or 2 WW points

I usually pour some sugar-free maple syrup on this and all it a 3 point pancake breakfast.  It’s pretty freaking awesome way to start a weekend day.

 

4 Responses to “Pancake”

  1. Amanda Says:

    OMG. I’m with you on the breakfast foods. Stuffed French toast. Biscuits and gravy. Eggs Benedict.

    Sigh.

  2. Diet-Delight Says:

    You can make your own oat flour by putting rolled oats into your food processor or VitaMix or blender…

    Thanks for the recipe — I’ll try it tomorrow as I have some buttermilk to use up.

    Cheers,
    Diet-Delight on SparkPeople
    http://www.sparkpeople.com/mypage.asp?id=DIET%2DDELIGHT

  3. MamaBearJune Says:

    Sounds yummy, but I’m a “protein shake for breakfast gal!” 😉 Keep making healthy choices!

  4. Chibi Jeebs Says:

    I made blueberry pancakes for the first time a month or so ago! Sadly, it was just-add-water mix from Costco… :-s


Leave a Reply

