A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

Life May 9, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tara @ 10:15 am
Tags:

You know how there’s no crying in baseball?  Well, there’s no cheating in dieting.

I’m going to reveal a pet peeve to you – one that I stumble upon on a lot of weight loss blogs out there.

I hate when I hear people say that they did or did not “cheat” on their diet.  It drives me mental.

Part of the problem is that I don’t really consider myself to be on a diet, and in my deluded world, neither are any of my blog friends.  When I talk about dieting, I always refer to it as A THING.  A THING is where you don’t eat anything you enjoy, you munch on celery sticks instead of real food, you eat cottage cheese in misery and you plan for the day when you’re not going to have to do A THING anymore.

I’m not doing that.

Sure, I don’t eat everything I’d like whenever I’d like to eat them, but I do eat delicious foods that satisfy and fill me.  I love celery, but never in the place of real food and cottage cheese has never passed these lips.

What’s the last one again?  Oh yeah.  This is also forever.  I’m going to be eating like this, healthfully and mindfully, for the rest of my life.  There’s never going to be a time when this is not my reality.  Sometimes when I fight the urge to binge on something, and I’m starting to feel like I’m on A THING, I remind myself that I can eat like this for the rest of my life.  That I’m satisfied, physically, with everything I’m eating.  The dissatisfaction I feel at that moment is mental.  And food is not really what I’m craving, hunger is not really what I’m feeling.  I’m looking for satiety that will not come with any amount of food.

I think all these things and they help me fight off the urge to binge.  I usually win.  Sometimes I lose, but those instances are outweighed by the victories.  I triumph more than I fail.

So when I choose to eat something that I didn’t plan for, or I indulge in a special treat, it’s can’t be called cheating.  I have begun to plan for a special treat every Saturday.  I take the treat out of my weekly 35 extra points (for those of you following WW, you know what I mean) and I enjoy the heck out of it.  This week I had a slice of raspberry swirl loaf from Starbucks.  I ate it slowly, savouring it with a cup of coffee and when I was finished, I crumpled up the bag and moved on with my day.

It was simply eating a food I don’t eat very often.  You can’t cheat on life.

 

2 Responses to “Life”

  1. Chibi Jeebs Says:

    “It was simply eating a food I don’t eat very often. You can’t cheat on life.”

    A-freaking-men. Excellent way of thinking: it will serve you well. ❤

  2. Great post! I love the last line – it is so true!


Leave a Reply

