A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

The Girl Who Does Yoga June 8, 2010

Filed under: Weight Loss Updates — Tara @ 7:27 pm
Tags:

I’m down this week by 2.4 lbs and have shot out of the 170’s and into the 160’s.  This taking it “decade” by “decade” thing is really working for me.  The goals are pretty attainable and they never feel very far out of reach. 

One goal that did come and go (and to be honest, I forgot I made it) was my goal to be half the woman I was by June 1st.  I didn’t quite make it.  Oh well.

No – that’s it.  Oh well.  It was a goal, but I by no means feel I failed by not hitting that poundage lost by that specific date.  As I’m currently sitting, I have about four lbs or so to have lost 50% of my body weight.  That feels pretty good not matter which way you slice it.

Lots of stuff going on lately.  I took new progress pics on Friday that I hope to have up soon.  I still have to get them sent to me and then smush them all together (the technical terms are impressive, eh?) so that I only have to post one pic.

I signed up for three months of unlimited yoga at my studio because, surprisingly, I love yoga.  Let me repeat that, I LOVE YOGA!!!! 

I started off hating it.  I was bad at it, and generally, I hate anything I’m bad at.  I kept going because I had paid for a 30 day pass and I’m always determined to get my money out of everything.  I took a bunch of classes, with different instructors until one day I took a class with Sofie (scroll down, she’s on there) and realized how much yoga rocks.  Her class is everything I thought yoga wasn’t: intense, athletic, detailed and fast paced.  She runs us through the poses pretty quickly, not repeating things for an eon, but moving on to progressively more difficult stuff as the class goes on.  I feel strong and calm after a class with Sofie and look forward to the next one.  I’m still trying classes out with other instructors (in fact, I’m going to my first hot class this Wednesday – sorta scared, not going to lie) but I take at least two classes a week with her and I feel amazing, during and after.

If you live in the Toronto area, my yoga studio is drop in and has locations in the Annex (downtown), Oakville and Burlington and I can’t recommend it enough.  Yoga has taught me how to appreciate how strong my body is and it’s also helped my posture immensely outside of class; I walk and stand taller (which, by the way, makes a person look thinner.  Just sayin’).  I know it can seem…crunchy or granola-ey.  It is a bit.  But it’s still awesome – and no joke!  Whenever I’m in class and my arms are shaking from side-planks or my legs are wobbling from warrior-poses, I always think the same thing: yoga ain’t for wimps.

Give it a try!

 

8 Responses to “The Girl Who Does Yoga”

  1. Nicole Says:

    So true! I did a yoga video last week after taking a break from it for a while and I was sore for days! Felt good, though. Congrats on the loss–you’ll hit 50% soon enough.

  2. aperfectversionofmyself Says:

    Nicole! I thought we lost you!

  3. Curvy Jones Says:

    Popping in from Healthy You! Congrats on the 160s! I totally lose decade by decade, sometimes 5lbs at a time! Small victories! 😀

  4. Yum Yucky Says:

    I threw my back out doing Yoga. Totally my fault, but I”m glad that you’re enjoying it. 🙂

  5. I LOVE hot yoga – I hope you enjoy it, too!

  6. Lil Says:

    Congrats on your successes! Very inspirational. I think the last time I visited was in January, and you’ve just kept up the hard work…way to go! 🙂

  7. Lauren Says:

    Ah, I hate yoga! I am terrible at it, and have never been flexible. At all.

    Maybe after losing some of my extra poundage, I will try again. Will also feel more comfortable with my ass in the air when it’s smaller hehe

  8. Lauren Says:

    P.S. Congrats on hitting the 160s!!!


Leave a Reply

