A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

Bitch June 15, 2010

Filed under: Weight Loss Updates — Tara @ 7:55 pm
Tags:

I’m down 1.2 lbs this week.  It’s amazing that I used to consider that a “bad” week and now anything over a pound per week is a bonus for me.  I had an absolute great week – I hit yoga three times, went to Zumba, set a new personal record for how long I can jog without stopping, etc…

With my great week in mind – I’m going to gossip with you!

There’s this woman who goes to my WW meeting who I CANNOT STAND.  I kinda feel bad because WW often feels like a sisterhood or a sorority, only for fat people.  Instead of secret handshakes, we swap tips on how to maximize points.  So, in that spirit, I try very hard to like everyone.  Or, if not like, at least ignore.

Not this woman.

First, let me just say that I had to stop going to my regular meeting for a while because of an hours change at work.  I’m now rotating my hours, so I’ll be able to hit up my usual meeting at least six out of eight weeks, but there was a period of eight weeks where I had to attend the later meeting.  This woman joined sometime in that period because I had never clapped eyes on her before last week. 

She’s just awful.  There’s this whole thing happening at WW where they are combining our meeting with the later meeting and putting it smack in between the two.  It doesn’t work for the majority of the people who attend our meeting and people are (rightfully) upset.  We were discussing it last week, one of the lifetime ladies and myself and the horrible woman (from here on out, she will be referred to as HW) piped up that the last thing she wanted from her WW meeting was politics and that she should just be told where and when to show up and she’d be there.

Ok lady.  It’s wonderful for you that you have such an open schedule.  I’m glad that you a) have no life or b) make your WW meeting the top priority in your week, but it’s not that way for everyone.  Even if I start to attend at the new meeting time, some of the lovely people I’ve been doing this weight loss thing with for the last eighteen months will not be able to join me.  That means some of the support I’ve built with WW is gone.  I’m sure if you’ve ONLY BEEN ATTENDING FOR EIGHT WEEKS (maximum) YOU DON’T CARE WHEN THE MEETINGS ARE SWITCHING TO, but you don’t have the right to make other people feel like they’re being petty for giving a damn.  You can have your opinion, just keep it to yourself.  She cemented my bad opinion of her by making snarky comments under her breath after other people had spoken during the actual meeting.  Bitch.

So this week, I was all ready to give her a second chance this week – fat being thicker than water after all – but she made me want to slap her again!  We were talking tracking and I mentioned that it helps me to do it in the morning – I’m less likely to get off plan if I know I’m going to mess up the way my tracker looks.  A bit mental, I know, but it helps me out.  SHE MADE FUN OF ME!!  Loud enough that I heard her and whipped around to ask her to repeat it.  She looked shifty, but she did.  HW had followed up my comment that I use a three-month tracker with a crack about how it makes it harder to start over when I spell something wrong.

FUCK YOU LADY.

I rolled my eyes at her, but said nothing.  My moment came when she revealed that she tracks on a custom-designed Exel spreadsheet WITH MACROS.  I interrupted her to ask if she had actually made fun of me for keeping my tracker neat, when she was anal enough to design software to keep track of her food.  There was silence in the room and then everyone laughed at her.

For most, the laughter was good-natured, but for me?  Uh-uh.  I meant every HA HA as a slur on her honour, integrity and compunction. 

For I too am a bitch.

 

8 Responses to “Bitch”

  1. Curvy Jones Says:

    Dont know how you held back! At the end of the day, I’m tired, possibly hungry, ready to go home. That’s a dangerous combo, and a bad time to make me angry. URGH!

  2. Michele Says:

    Wow! LOL what a B***ch! As a fellow WW girl I know what it’s like to not like someone in your reg meeting, it throws off youe experience. That is a sacred time that pumps you up, makes you feel good, and prepairs you for another long week.. don’t let her get to you! Kill her with kindness =) or hack in and delete her spreadsheet LOL

  3. Michele Says:

    P.S. Just checked out your stats! Way to go girl!

  4. Lauren Says:

    WW meetings are supposed to be supportive, she has no business being there if she’s going to have that nasty attitude.

    fortunately, my meeting group is pretty good. Except for the one person who every week talks about how she’s either:
    1. she’s not losing weight because she’s not able to get in all her points/track because she’s soooooooooo busy and always running around.
    2. losing 2 pounds per week isn’t fast enough for her.
    3. has gains at the scale on weeks when she follows plan and then complains that she doesn’t know what she’s doing wrong.

  5. Kendra Says:

    Let your bitch flag fly girl! Mine’s pink.

  6. Tracy Says:

    Congrats on the loss this week!

    And urgh, there’s nothing worse than when you get a woman in your meeting that you just can’t stand. There’s one woman in my meeting who’s not NASTY, but she insists on giving her life story every time she says something. We were talking about favourite foods two weeks ago, and rather than just saying, “Mine is pickled beetroot on toast!” (gross!) she said, “Mine is beetroot on toast,” and when I asked if she meant PICKLED beetroot, she said, “Yeah, PICKLED beetroot, because […]” and launched into this 10-minute story about how her granny used to feed it to her as a kid.

    And it wasn’t just that one meeting.

    It’s EVERY MEETING.

    I want to tell her that she doesn’t have to tell her LIFE story to tell a story. She just takes up time that we don’t have. 😦

  7. kristlynngirl Says:

    Reasons I don’t go to meetings! lol I don’t always play well with others, hahaha.

  8. Chibi Jeebs Says:

    I’m proud of you for sticking up for yourself and calling her on her rudeness – totally unacceptable on her part. Sounds like an inferiority complex and/or jealousy issue.

    I totally snort-laughed at Mishele’s suggestion to hack her spreadsheet… *evil grin*


Leave a Reply

