A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

Shake a Leg June 23, 2010

Filed under: Goals and Expectations,Weight Loss Updates — Tara @ 10:08 pm
Tags:

I’m late this week!  Too busy to post yesterday!  Too busy to post tonight, come to think of it but I don’t like to let it get too long lest all of you think I’m off in a corner somewhere eating butter with a spoon.

I stayed exactly the same this week, which is fine by me.  This is just proof that some weeks you can do everything right – track every mouthful, stay within your points, get lots of exercise and NOT LOSE ANY WEIGHT.  It just doesn’t always happen.  The only recourse?  To keep doing what you were doing – living your healthy, active life.  The scale will catch up with you but in the meantime, you’ll be feeling better and stronger every single day.

Tonight was my Weight Watchers Walk-It 5K Challenge, which I believe all Weight Watchers in North America were participating in.  I went in with a plan.  I wanted to run the whole thing.  I wanted to prove to myself that I could do it without stopping to walk.  And I did!!  I did not stop to walk once, I was breathing hard and sweating like a pig (it was about 100 degrees here today with the humidity) but I did it.

I even finished first.  I mean, I know it wasn’t a race, most people were walking, but still.  I finished VERY FIRST out of all the people who participated.  There was a woman behind me for most of the race – most of the time she was just close enough for me to see when I turned the corner, but at the end, she put on the speed and was catching me.  I literally thought “you did not stay out in front this whole time only to get passed in the end” and I put on my own burst of speed.  I “beat” her by about 30 seconds.  My time (based on how much of my playlist I heard while running) was 32:16!!  That’s a speed of 10:23 seconds per mile!  I’m not so slow anymore!

Dude.  I have never been so proud of myself in my entire life.  I feel like Wonder Woman and She-Ra all rolled into one.  Better yet?  I feel like an ATHLETE. 

One more announcement before I go.  I’m thinking about starting a inter-web challenge and I’m kinda polling who’d be interested.  What do you think about car-free weekends?  And by that, I mean getting everywhere on your own steam on the weekends.  You could walk, run, bike, roller blade or swim (where you would be going by swimming, I’m not sure but if it’s an option, I say go for it) anything but use your car.  I’m pledging to it, right here and now.  I will not use my car on the weekends, but get around using nothing but two feet and a heartbeat.

Are you with me?

 

2 Responses to “Shake a Leg”

  1. Astrid Says:

    I love the idea! I’d pledge to it if there was anything in my town worth walking to. I actually used to be car-less in my old town and walked literally everywhere. It was 6 miles to and back easy just to pay a bill!

    Needless to say, it was great exercise. But now I’ve gotten lazy with my fancy (nearly my age and beaten down) car to carry me to the far ends of the parking lots.

  2. Chibi Jeebs Says:

    Dude, that’s AWESOME! Go, you! 🙂

    The idea of a carless weekend is *very* intriguing: alas, the majority of our grocery shopping is done too far away to walk home. :-s


Leave a Reply

