A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

Do It Again June 29, 2010

Filed under: Weight Loss Updates — Tara @ 9:36 pm
Tags:

It’s Tuesday so it must be weigh in time!  I’m down 2.4 lbs this week and I’m only 1.1 lbs away from an awesome 50% of my body weight lost. 

This week was a tough one – my company had our Q2 inventory on Saturday, requiring a six-day work week.  Worse for my diet was the potluck lunch that always occurs the day before (and leftovers for the day of) the inventory.  I brought something for the group to share that was not completely diet-friendly (Choosy Beggars’ Singapore Noodles Salad, it was amazingly delicious) but wasn’t too bad either.  I took my own lunch, but tried a couple of things people had brought in – one was a Middle-Eastern flatbread thing with meat (amazing) and the other was this pastry thing filled with dulce de leche from one of my Argentinian coworkers.  Dude.  I can’t talk about it without drooling.

Saturday was good too – I had a brief fling with a small piece of plum-cake and then I moved on.  I thought about that cake though – I thought about it a lot.  Probably more than a normal person would but I was able to restrain myself from eating another slice and from taking some home when it was offered to me. 

This whole thing with the cake made me realize something:  sugar makes me a bit crazy – and it’s weird that I never noticed it before.  Once I have the tiniest bit of sugar, I just want to keep eating it.  And eating it.  And eating it.  It’s why granola bars are on the banned list in my house once I run out of the ones I currently have.  It’s just not worth the temptation.  If I want a granola bar, I’ll walk or bike to the grocery store and buy a Cliff or Luna bar (you know, the ones that are sold individually) and consider it a treat.  It’s not a treat when I sit and eat three of them whilst surfing the internet.

Even though it was a tough week, I tracked everything.  I still have four points left from my 35 weekly points and I didn’t use any of my activity points (hence the loss, I guess). 

I had a point when I started writing this post, but then it got lost in my food confessions.  Oops.

Oh wait, I remembered what it is!

Just because you have a setback or a tough week, don’t give up.  You can still live a normal life and lose weight.  It’s normal to eat a pastry or a slice of cake, everyone does it.  You can work it into your plan and you can be successful.

 

5 Responses to “Do It Again”

  1. Curvy Jones Says:

    Congrats on your 2.4! Amazing loss, and almost 50%. Great!

  2. Lauren Says:

    I can’t even fathom losing 50% of my body weight. And if I did that I would be at the lower end of my healthy weight range. So it’s ok. But still, that’s absolutely insane!! Congrats!

  3. bonnie godzich Says:

    Great job!!! I still have 30 pounds to go to get to the 50% level. Do you have any idea why some people can eat sugar without that awful cannot stop symptom? All it take is one small taste and I get such awful cravings, now with less vweight to lose it is even harder? Chemistry or lack of control?

  4. Chibi Jeebs Says:

    Congrats on the loss! 🙂

    Y’know, I’ve always had this… built-in stop mechanism: ONE piece of pie, ONE chocolate bar, ONE serving of cookies (2-3, FYI, depending on size), ONE brownie, etc. However. I spend embarrassingly large amounts of time secretly thinking about the NEXT piece/serving/bar. I can become obsessed with the next one. Ugh. :-s

  5. aperfectversionofmyself Says:

    Chibi – thanks for sharing that with me – it’s exactly what happens to me! That helps feed my fear and anxiety that I will gain this weight back, the fact that even though I stop myself from eating the pastry (or whatever), I obsess over the next one pretty hardcore.

    Still, I think as long as I take each situation as a seperate entity and just make ONE good decision at a time, I think I’ll be alright.


Leave a Reply

