A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

Walk It Off July 6, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tara @ 11:05 pm
Tags:

Before I get to the weigh in, can I just say how freakin’ hot it is out? Never have I been more thankful to be thinner than this week, where temperatures have reached into the FORTIES (celsius) with a humidex.

I’m up this week – by 0.6 lbs. I’m not sure what that’s about, but I have an inkling that it has something to do with the heat. I noticed that my shoes left marks on my feet yesterday and today, something that hasn’t happened in many pounds. I suspect this hot weather may be causing me to retain water. At least that was the theory of my WW leader – she mentioned that I wasn’t the first person to be surprised by a small gain. I’m not THAT bummed (I’d be lying if I said there isn’t a part of me that feels some disappointment today), I managed to earn a record 32 activity points this week, which is four more than WW suggests you aim for. I wasn’t attempting to get this many, it’s just a by-product of me being more fit.

You see, I love to camp and hike. LOVE IT. I did it a lot when I was younger, but as I gained weight, it became another thing that slipped away from me. Not only did I not have the physical stamina to hike, but as my weight climbed, my ankles and knees could not have supported me climbing hills and clambering over rocks.

Now that I’m so fit, I’ve been taking advantage of the natural beauty around me (literally, I live a fifteen minute drive from about ten conservation areas) and I get out on the weekends and hike. I pack water, a portable no-packaging snack (ie: an apple or pear) and I sometimes take a dog along for the trek. My favourite trail takes you up and around a huge Beaver Dam and it’s almost a 10 kilometre hike. I usually finish it in about two or two and a half hours.

It doesn’t feel like exercise! It feels like indulging myself in an activity I love. For that reason, I’m always surprised to get home and have SparkPeople tell me I burned almost 1000 calories during my hike. It’s so wonderful it almost feels like cheating!

I encourage everyone to find some form of exercise that is an accidental bonus. Something that you love doing that just happens to burn calories. It will be the most pleasant part of your week, I guarantee it.

 

4 Responses to “Walk It Off”

  1. yumyucky Says:

    you are so right about the accidental exercise. I’ve been doing these flowy Yoga-ish moves with a cross between pilates. I just put on some spa music in the early morn before everyone wakes up and just floooow. It’s so relaxing. No DVD instructor or gym required. 🙂

  2. Chibi Jeebs Says:

    Water retention sounds pretty damned accurate – the heat is awful! (We’re just starting to get it at the other end of the country.) You’ll have that 0.6 off in NO time. 😉

  3. sammydee Says:

    I love love love your blogs! I found you on the weekend and have read all the archives. You are my new hero! 🙂

  4. Debbie Lowe Says:

    thanks for visiting my blog. I like your post..


Leave a Reply

