A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

Hot Damn Woman July 17, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tara @ 11:58 pm
Tags:

I only set myself one real goal this week: no binges.  So far, so good.  I think posting my food on here has really been helping.  I really don’t want to put out there that I ate three bowls of cereal in a row.  It’s embarrassing!

Let’s talk workout gear tonight.  I spend a lot (A LOT) of time in my workout clothes.  Consequently, they are the clothes that a) fit the best in my entire wardrobe – there is NOTHING more annoying than working out in clothes that don’t fit and b) they are the most expensive clothing in my wardrobe.

I get the whole “you’re just sweating in it, go grab some sweats and a baggy t-shirt from Walmart” attitude.  I really, really do.  However, like I said, I spend a lot of time in these clothes.  They are the hardest working clothes in my closet, not only because of me working out in them, but also because I wash them constantly.  Who wants sweaty disgusting gym clothes lying around their house?  Not me! 

So I buy quality workout gear.  I spend more money on fitness these days than anything else and the clothes I wear to perform my brilliant acts of breathlessness are no exception.  I mostly buy my clothes from Lululemon.  I’m addicted.  I admit, I was skeptical about a place that charges $80 for what are essentially sweatpants, but you know what?  When they make your butt look that good, they’re worth every freaking penny.  I don’t know what they make those pants out of, or how they are engineered, but my goodness!  My butt looks incredible in their pants!  EVERYONE’S butt looks incredible in their pants.  It’s a phenomenon.

Today I stopped by the lovely store in the neighbouring town and recognized one of their employees as someone who also works at my yoga studio.  We were chatting about yoga and Kula and the topic of how yoga can change your body shape came up.  She mentioned that she had heard a rumour about how I’d lost all this weight and I confirmed it to be true.  We talked awhile longer and stuff started coming out of my mouth that I think about and that I talk about here with my blog readers, but don’t really mention out loud – stuff about how I make the choice to be happy every day instead of miserable, and how getting happy made me lose weight, not the other way around.  I was basically pontificating on how great life is and how it’s possible to make the changes you want to see on a daily basis and at the end of the conversation she told me that she was so glad we had talked and how inspiring I was.  It was a moment for me.  I don’t usually run off at the mouth about myself or my weight loss to perfect strangers.  I even mentioned the tri-a-triathalon I’m signed up to run at the end of August – and I don’t mention that to ANYONE.

We parted and I began to shop in earnest.  Carolina (the yoga studio/Lulu employee) came to find me in the store whilst I was looking and told me that she’d told her manager about me and what I had accomplished and they both agreed that Lululemon wanted to contribute to my future success.  Carolina told me to pick something in the store and it was on Lulu.  What?! 

In the spirit of bravery, I picked something that I would normally not wear.  Especially since it’s a built-in-bra type thing and I’m always convinced that I’m not supported enough.  But this time?  I bought it.  I look great in it.  I look like an athlete in it.  Cause it’s even starting to sink into MY thick brain that that’s what I am.  An athlete.

Thank you Lululemon, not only for the shirt, but for all the workout gear that I’ve purchased in the past that has helped push me into believing that I’m an athlete.  Thank you for making me feel like I looked good while I was sweating buckets. 

Available Weight Watchers Points: 22

Breakfast: 2 servings Oat-Blueberry Pancakes (-4)

2 servings Walden Farms Calorie-Free Pancake Syrup (0)

90 minutes yoga (+4)

32 oz water consumed between breakfast and lunch

Lunch:  Flatouts flatbread pizza – made with part-skim mozzarella, red and green peppers, tomatoes and onions (-4)

6 oz honeydew melon (-1)

1 All Bran cinnamon-oat bar (-2)

Grande coffee from Starbucks made with skim milk and two Splenda (0)

1 quarter-sized gluten-free oatmeal cookie sample from organic bakery (0)

1 serving fruit salad from Whole Foods (-1)

32 oz water consumed from lunch until dinner

Dinner:  3 oz grilled boneless, skinless chicken breast (-3)

1 TBSP red pepper jelly (-1)

1 ear grilled corn on the cob (-1)

1 cup steamed green beans and brocoli (0)

Dessert: 1 serving No-Sugar Added Jello pudding (-1)

1 medium apple (-1)

70 minutes walking at semi-brisk pace along a mostly flat trail (+3)

1 McDonald’s vanilla ice cream cone (-5)

12 oz water consumed from dinner until bedtime

Total points used:  24

Weekly points available: 31 (4 used)

Total AP earned: 7 (18 for the week)

Total AP used: 0

Total liquids consumed: 92 oz – 76 of them water

 

3 Responses to “Hot Damn Woman”

  1. That’s awesome! I’m sure you felt good just ‘talking’ about it to a real person, but to have them be so inspired to offer you something like that is really cool. You will be ‘high’ on that motivation all week 🙂

  2. Chibi Jeebs Says:

    Such an awesome post! 🙂

  3. That is SO cool! I can totally get behind a company that encourages someone like they did you. So glad you are realizing you’re an athlete!


Leave a Reply

