A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

Tell Me Where it Hurts August 3, 2010

Filed under: Weight Loss Updates — Tara @ 10:26 pm
Tags:

This week has been extremely weird.  On the weight loss front, I stayed exactly the same, but it was a weird week.

I have had this bizarro thing happening, where I feel like I’m going to vomit pretty much all day long.  It’s worst in the morning, just before lunch and it gets intense.  I’m pretty sure it’s problems from my gallbladder, or lack thereof.  Sometimes when I eat certain things, my body just can’t process them because of the missing gallbladder and then it can get ugly.  My stomach will gurgle and twist and bloat and it’s horrible.  This is the first time it’s ever been so bad that I thought I was going to throw up, but it’s the same basic feeling.  If you’ve never had problems with your gallbladder, it’s hard to explain what it feels like for it to act up (even when you don’t have one anymore) but rest assured, I’m fairly certain that’s where this is coming from.

I have narrowed it down to being caused by one of two foods:  pineapple or steel-cut oats.  I’ve been eating pineapple for a while as my morning snack and was not having any problems, but since the grinding nausea seems to set in after my morning snack, I think it might be linked.  I also started eating steel-cut oats for breakfast each morning recently, I was trying to lessen how much processed food I was taking in.  I don’t like them really, but I figured I would eventually learn to like them.  I don’t remember if it was the exact day, but the gross-ness set in pretty close to these being introduced as my breakfast food.

I did not eat either one today and the pressure and nausea backed off.  My stomach is still bloated and I am having some troubles with gas (aren’t you glad you are reading this!!) so I’m not surprised that my weight stayed basically the same.  Along with these issues, I barely made it to the gym this last week.  It’s hard to convince yourself to sweat copiously when you’re concentrating on not puking. 

I’m just glad that I seem to have figured it out and I can put it behind me.  I’ll admit that I’m hoping to see a bit of a bigger loss next week, hoping that this bloat will go away and I’ll see the results next Tuesdays.  We’ll see.  For now I’m just really glad that I didn’t feel the urge to vomit today!

 

2 Responses to “Tell Me Where it Hurts”

  1. Miriam Says:

    Hi there!

    I hope you are doing better!

    I found out about your blog via sparkpeople and loved reading your story. Well, I was on SP for a couple of months, but then quit and deleted my account and just went on with my old habits… which did not make me happy. So that’s why I am trying once again, this time hoping to find consistency through my own blog.

    Anyway, I just wanted to let you know how much I admire you for all your hard work and persistence! I am soo impressed!

    Would you mind if I added you to my blogroll (as soon as I figure out how to do that!) ?

    Hope you’re doing better and thriving again 🙂

    -Miriam

  2. I bet it’s the oats. I just started milling my own wheat and if we eat too much bread made from the high-fiber wheat we all have some stomach issues, and we have our gallbladders. I’m glad that you found out what is bothering your stomach.


Leave a Reply

