A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

A Sound That Only You Can Hear August 13, 2010

Filed under: Uncategorized — Tara @ 8:00 am
Tags:

I always believed that I would lose weight one day and get the life that I wanted.  I used to sit and think about what my life would be like when I achieved my weight loss goals.  I always dreamed about “one day”.  “One day” I would be thin and pretty and active.  I would get to do all the things that my weight was preventing me from doing and it was going to be awesome.

I was always waiting for someone to come along and make it happen for me.  I was waiting for a pill, or a miracle cure, or a divine ray of motivation and inspiration to come to me.

But nothing and no one was going to come along and do it for me.

The work, the dreaded sticking to an eating plan and moving my butt around, was always going to have to be done by me.  No one else, no matter how much they wanted me to have the life I deserved, was going to be able to lose the weight for me.  It was on me.

You have to do it by yourself.  There can be support and there can be encouragement, but ultimately your fate rests on your shoulders alone.  You are responsible for your failures (boo) and your successes (yay!).  You have to make the decisions that will lead to where ever you end up.  You can’t depend on anyone to do the work for you.

So just start doing it.  Start small or start big, but make some changes.  Make one decision at a time, don’t get too overwhelmed but do it.  Take control of your life and your weight and make your own fate.

You can do this.

 

7 Responses to “A Sound That Only You Can Hear”

  1. Shannon @ BetterNextTime Says:

    Great blog! As I roll along my weight loss road, this is something I need to repeat to myself over and over!

  2. Lillian Says:

    Love this post:)

  3. kristi Says:

    I have several friends who have had gastric lately. That is discouraging to me b/c I am killing myself and they have lost 2 times what I have lost. UGH.

  4. Chibi Jeebs Says:

    I starred this post in my reader so I can revisit it. I find I do need encouragement and support on the days that I can’t encourage myself, but I definitely need to be reminded that no one but ME can do this. Thanks, love. I’m so glad to have “met” you so I can benefit from your wisdom. ❤

  5. karla Says:

    so so true!!!

  6. Zoe D. Says:

    This was a wonderful post–THANK YOU!. You are spot on–each of us is the ultimate author of her/his story. That is a heavy responsibility, but it is also an incredible opportunity. When we meet this challenge and persevere, we can stand on our own (slimmer) feet and claim that peak experience: I DID THIS!


Leave a Reply

