A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

All the Good in This Life August 26, 2010

Filed under: Weight Loss Updates — Tara @ 9:09 pm
Tags:

Quick post!  I’ll be back again to update on Sunday.

I’m up a pound this week, which is annoying but I’ve accepted that I’m sort of in a plateau.  I’m choosing to do this Bitch Cakes-style and reframe the crap out of it.

I’m choosing to think of this back and forth, so close to goal, yet so far away as a way to practice maintenance.  I’m still doing all my healthy things – eating right, getting lots of exercise and taking care of myself.  It’s just not happening for me.  Oh well.  It could be worse.  Bugging myself about it and drafting plans to get through it was not working.  As I mentioned a week or so ago, I’m just going with the flow on these last pounds.

That’s part of my transition I think.  I need to be getting my head around the idea that this is life.  It’s real and present and it can’t be avoided.  I don’t live in a bubble and I don’t think that any of you do either. 

Whatever this is, I’m not flipping out about it anymore.  It was driving me crazy to obsess over these last pounds and I’m just NOT DOING IT ANYMORE.  They’ll come off.  It’s just a matter of time.

I’m exhausted today – I took the night off and am headed up to have a hot bath and wear some kind of facemask.  I’m going to curl up with a good book, ignore the pile of dishes and go to bed early.  I’ve earned it.

 

3 Responses to “All the Good in This Life”

  1. Kendra Says:

    How’s the no sugar going? I hope you’re not getting the kind of headache I did from it.

  2. Pam Says:

    You really do deserve it, and have earned it. Hope it was a good relaxing evening. I know I have to get myself in the mindset of maintenance, even though I’m still 60 pounds away. I’m evidently on a plateau right now, cause I haven’t lost weight in almost two weeks, in fact I’m up a pound. Now I haven’t been eating enough to gain weight, and have been exercising and eating like I always did (while I lost the first 100 lbs), so what’s up with a gain? Frustrating. But I keep plugging away and try to realize it will be like this when I get to maintenance: Hard work, eating right, exercising, and no loss FOREVER. I can eat this way forever I think. This morning on my walk, I thought to myself I can do this forever. I sure hope I can, anyway.Keep up the great work, sure enjoy your blog.

  3. Chibi Jeebs Says:

    “They’ll come off. It’s just a matter of time.”

    You betcha. I have absolutely no doubt that, if ANYONE can do this, it’s you. And you know what? *IF* (and that’s a big if, IM(not so)HO), they don’t, you’ve still done an amazing job and should be so, so proud of yourself. I’m proud of you. 🙂


Leave a Reply

