A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

Laughing With August 31, 2010

Filed under: Weight Loss Updates — Tara @ 7:32 pm
Tags:

When the number came up on the scale today, I actually burst out laughing.

I must have looked pretty crazy.

First, let me explain.

I did something to my knee last Wednesday when I was running.  I’m not sure what I did because I figured I would see a doctor only if it got worse.  It didn’t, it just kind of ached inside.  I took basically the rest of the week off from the gym, only hitting yoga last night.

Every morning I would evaluate how my knee felt and it never felt 100%.  I don’t want a real injury that will sideline me, so I took it easy.

I listened to my body.

I also decided that this week I was going to count points, but I was going to do it in an intuitive eating-type fashion.  I did not eat on a schedule, I ate when I was hungry.  It’s so revolutionary! 

I was extremely busy this week with friends, which helped stave off the loneliness that I’m pretty sure is at the root of my binge eating, but we did stuff that I would might have said no to before I made the conscious effort to relax and just let the weight loss happen.

I went for sushi one night last week.  I went to a patio and had a regular beer (as in, not light beer).  I shopped, attended a concert, found the word’s best cookie and just lived my life as I feel a “normal” person would.  Normal, being someone who does not suffer from compulsive and binge eating.

I lost 4 lbs this week.

4 LBS!!

This is why I had a complete laugh attack upon viewing the number on the scale.

I keep having to relearn my own lessons over and over: weight loss is mostly mental.  I’ve said it again and again, but I keep forgetting and then reminding myself. 

In this spirit, I”m not going to make a big deal of this loss.  I’m just going to keep living my life in its current healthy fashion.  No celebrations, no giant declarations of momentum, no planning for the last of the pounds to come off. 

Just my life.

 

12 Responses to “Laughing With”

  1. stephanieww Says:

    Congratulations! That’s awesome!!! Thank you for visiting my blog today! 🙂

    http://www.unveilingthediva.blogspot.com/

  2. nataliamao Says:

    Ciao ! I smiled with you, I’m very glad you spent a great week !!!

  3. Terri Says:

    Hello! That’s awesome!!! I was just reading your blog and I really enjoy it. You are doing such an amazing thing, taking care of you!! Keep it up 🙂

  4. Chibi Jeebs Says:

    I have the BIGGEST grin on my face after reading this – congrats, love! 😀

  5. Zoe D. Says:

    Who knew the quest for normal was such a challenge, yes? There are so many who think losing weight is a simple equation. If only! Congrats on the 4 lb loss and–more importantly–the steps you’re taking toward the peace of normality.

  6. Margene Says:

    Congrats! That is awesome. 🙂
    ~Margene

  7. Monica Says:

    Hey! Hooray for the 4lb weight loss! I wonder if maybe its similar to calorie cycling? Either way its great that you had such a “normal” time and you lost =]

  8. Lauren Says:

    Congrats Tara! 4lbs is a great loss, especially when you started acting intuitively more than following a plan. That’s a huge feat and really shows how far you have come!

  9. Lauren Says:

    Congrats Tara! 4lbs is a great loss, especially when you started acting intuitively more than following a plan. That’s a huge feat and really shows how far you have come!

  10. LyndawithaY Says:

    God, that’s so awesome. I really envy your ability to eat intuitively. I’ve read a lot about it but I’m not near there yet. Good for you! : )

  11. […] have no idea how I managed to lose 7 lbs in two weeks.  I had an enormous loss last week and went to my weigh in anticipating staying the same or even a small gain.  Again, I […]


Leave a Reply

