A Perfect Version of Myself

Losing Weight is Hard

Everlong September 9, 2010

Filed under: Goals and Expectations,Weight Loss Updates — Tara @ 10:35 pm
Tags:

I just deleted everything I had just written because I decided that I only want to do this:

I HIT GOAL AT WEIGHT WATCHERS!!

That’s right!

I have no idea how I managed to lose 7 lbs in two weeks.  I had an enormous loss last week and went to my weigh in anticipating staying the same or even a small gain.  Again, I didn’t eat on a schedule.  I didn’t binge eat, I didn’t plan for every single solitary thing that MIGHT happen.  I just did my normal thing.  The thing where I feel like I’m just like everyone else.  I may even have done a thing where I went to a dance club and had a few too many beer.

I stepped on the scale and the number came up:

I just stood there.  In shock.  I honestly thought I had been struck dumb.  It was…bizarre.  Then, I said (like a moron), “I think I just hit goal”.  There was literally no one else in the Weight Watchers except me because I’ve been going to weigh in on my lunch hour.  The receptionist looked down at my file and agreed that I had, indeed, hit goal.  I jumped off the scale, turned in a weird circle (like a dog, how amazing) and then ran around the counter and hugged the receptionist.  I then burst into tears.  I literally could not stop crying for about ten minutes.

She took this picture of me:

I stood there for another few minutes and then I left.  I’m waiting till next week to get my At Goal key chain thing because I want to go to my regular meeting and get it there.  That’s very important to me.  I need to celebrate and share with the wonderful people who were there for me and supported me all along this thing.

I feel…incredible.  It’s made all the more sweeter by the fact that I feel like I had a real breakthrough over these last few weeks.  I’m not saying that it’s not going to be work to keep the weight off, but I don’t feel like it’s going to be impossible or that it’s going to be a constant battle.

I feel like I know how to really listen to my body.  I’m sure that there will be days when this is harder than others, but I feel like I can do this.  I feel like I can be normal.  I’m going to continue to follow Weight Watchers, counting points and tracking my food.  I’m going to continue doing all the exercise that I love so much: running, biking, hiking, spinning, yoga, Zumba etc.  I’m going to continue to live my active, healthy life.  And I’m going to continue to be happy.

I’m going to continue to blog here – I love writing about the things I’m doing and I’m also really aware of how much accountability was gained by posting.  I also feel like blogging is a weird kind of therapy.  I work out my issues while I’m writing.

In the meantime, I leave you with these two images.  One was taken a month before I started this and the other was taken last Saturday.  They speak for themselves:

 

12 Responses to “Everlong”

  1. Chibi Jeebs Says:

    SHUT UP SHUT UP SHUT UP! I’m SO freaking PROUD of you! Dude, *I* just burst into tears – you look AMAZING. Gah! (Seriously can’t stop smiling & crying!)

  2. suzanne Says:

    Huge congratulations!!

  3. Tyrone M. Says:

    Holy crap. This is amazing. Congratulations to you!

  4. amanda Says:

    Spectacular!! Congratulations! Revel and explore your new now!

  5. Nicole Says:

    Yay! That’s so wonderful! What an inspiration. The list of things you love doing now–it’s so full and thrilling.

  6. Allison Moller Says:

    Congratulations! You deserve to be so proud of yourself! You really are inspiring 🙂 Keep it up!

  7. chubrubb Says:

    Wooooooowwww!!!!!!
    I just clicked on your link because your RSS feed hadn’t updated in a while and see you’ve hit goal!
    You are so awesome!! You just pushed through until you reached your goal!! And you look awesome in your last picture!!
    Excellent!!

  8. Janet Says:

    Yay! Congratulations! You look so happy in that last picture. I love it!

  9. Kendra Says:

    You did it! You did it! You did it! You did it! I’m so happy for you and a little jealous as well.

  10. Pam Says:

    Your post left me in tears. You look fantastic. My goal is 160, I am 58 pounds away, but have lost 106, so I’m on my way. I am so determined to get there, and your blog inspires me even more. Way to go girl–keep up the good work and keep blogging so we can read about your journey and continue to be inspired!

  11. Monica Says:

    Thats soooo awesome and insirping. You really look amazing ❤

  12. That’s amazing Tara! I am so happy to hear about your new healthy lifestyle 🙂 glad that you have a group of friends and family to support you and that you plan on carrying the fun activities that you love. Thanks for sharing, very inspirational!


Leave a Reply

